1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

WIFI won't connect

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by icemanrrc, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. icemanrrc
    Offline

    icemanrrc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Mot Droid has suddenly stopped connecting to my WIFI. It shows up in my list of wifi networks, but will not connect. It says under Wifi Settings "Disconnected." Under Wifi networks is says "remembered." It has full signal strength. If I manually tap on my wifi network on the wifi network list, and tap "connect" it still doesn't do anything. Yes, I made sure airplane mode was not checked and static IP address is also not checked. I even tapped to manually turn off wifi and turn it back on with no results.
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 15, 2010
  2. Kmart95
    Offline

    Kmart95 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I have had this problem sometimes before and what works for me is to forget the network and try reconnecting by entering the password in again. And if that doesn't work go into airplane mode and then come out of it and then try reconnecting

    Sent from my Droid
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    :welcome: to the forum. Just an FYI, WiFi does work in Airplane Mode so that wouldn't have anything to do with it.

    You may want to download an app called WiFi Analyzer from the Market. It may be able to show you what channel your wifi should be on for optimum connection strength.
  4. HeathCliff
    Offline

    HeathCliff New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Since 2.2, my wifi connects, I have the icon, but the phone is not receiving connectivity. I am stumped. I downloaded JRummy Kangerade, figuring the new ROM would fix it, but not. Solution??
  5. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I'll second K-Mart's suggestion. I had this problem one time and I deleted the connection and started over. That solved it for me too. Good luck.
  6. Taegost
    Offline

    Taegost New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    I was having intermittent issues at home with it as well... Until I used WiFi analyzer and found that there are 13 wireless networks on channel 5 (What I was using), 8 on 6, and 15 on 4... But only 3 on channel 1 and they're all weak :)
    Gotta love living in an apartment complex!
    Once i changed the router to channel 1, I haven't had an issue since.
  7. HeathCliff
    Offline

    HeathCliff New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doesn't work. You can't delete a connection. You can only tell it to "forget" the connection on the Droid, unless you see something I don't see. I'm at home, and when you scan the available connections, it just shows my D-Link router.
  8. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Exchange "forget" for "delete" in my post.
  9. HeathCliff
    Offline

    HeathCliff New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To BayouFlyFisher: I didn't mean to sound like I was correcting you. When you hard-press on an individual connection, in my case D-Link, the only option listed is Forget Network. There's no option to Delete, at least on 2.2 rooted with JRummy Kangerade, with P3Droid kernel.
  10. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    That's cool. Just in a bad mood. Had to put down 16 year old dog this morning. Sure do get attached. Sorry for being snippy.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  11. HeathCliff
    Offline

    HeathCliff New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bad mood? It's devastating. I'm so sorry. What a major loss for you.

    I did get my connection to work, you were ultimately correct, but I had to do it via the Desktop. I called D-Link support, and they helped me reconfigure the settings. I changed the name from D Link to my own name, and added encryption which I didn't have previously. So, by changing the info, it was, as you said, in essence deleting and reconfiguring, which I couldn't do directly on the phone.
  12. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Glad it worked out for you. Have a good week. :)
  13. icemanrrc
    Offline

    icemanrrc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still doesn't work. I guess I will have to take it to a verizon store.
  14. imjuschilling
    Offline

    imjuschilling New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Had same issues.....

    I had the same problem and tried to forget my wi-fi network and type in the password again several times and couldn't get it to work, I finally figured out that I had too many devices set up on my wireless router, and the default DHCP address release was set to 5, so it wouldn't release an IP address to my Motorola Droid because too many IP addresses were already released to other devices. Make sure that you don't have too many devices already connected to your wi-fi network eating up your address pool. Hopefully that helps someone. dancedroid
  15. icemanrrc
    Offline

    icemanrrc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got it figured out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Here's the deal. When trying to add or configure a wireless network, the Droid asks for the network password. THIS ISN'T WHAT YOU NEED! What you are supposed to enter is your NETWORK SECURITY KEY.

    Works like a champ now!
  16. azmotorhead2005
    Offline

    azmotorhead2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would've never thought to check for that... I'd tried everything else possible, no luck, I change the channel and BAM! Worked like a charm.

    You have my thanks dancedroid
  17. wtherrell
    Offline

    wtherrell Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Can't get wifi to see my network

    Shows up other nearby weak networks but not my strong 4 bar network.
    My old Samsung Omnia in the same place recognizes it. SSID is broadcast and both other phone and my laptop see it just fine.
    Any advice?
  18. DDROIDJ
    Offline

    DDROIDJ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tukwila Washington
    I have a question. I was under the impression that the new 2.2 update on the Droid 1 will allow it to be a hotspot.

    Am I mistaken

    If not how would I go about doing this?
  19. harrellj
    Offline

    harrellj New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Unfortunately, even though that is part of Froyo, it is something that Verizon had stripped out from the software. Actually, I don't think the D1 can be a hotspot, though you can wirelessly tether if you're rooted.
  20. uberbdon
    Offline

    uberbdon New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix
    this worked for me
Search tags for this page
droid 4 won't connect to wifi
,
droid won't connect to wi-fi
,
droid won't connect to wifi
,

droid wont connect to wifi

,
moto x won't connect to wi fi
,
motorola droid wont connect to wifi
,
my droid won't connect to my wifi
,
my droid won't connect to wifi
,
my droid wont connect to wifi
,
my droid x2 will not connect to wifi
,
verizon motoroladroid wont connect to wifi
,
why my droid iphone doesnt connect to wi fi
,
why won't my droid connect to my wifi
,
why won't my droid connect to wifi
,
why wont my droid connect to wifi