1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Wi Fi Tether Knocked Out With ICS

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by Heero, Jun 25, 2012.

  1. Heero
    Offline

    Heero New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks like ICS knocked out the tethering programs from working properly. Does anyone know if there's something in the works for ICS?
  2. Mike8016
    Offline

    Mike8016 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try wifi tether. It isn't on the market bu you should be able to find it. You also need to be rooted for it

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  3. Heero
    Offline

    Heero New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used WiFi Tether prior to upgrading to ICS and it was working fine. As soon as I upgraded to ICS, the program no longer works. Does anyone have any ideas?
  4. Mike8016
    Offline

    Mike8016 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does foxfi work?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  5. t1.8matt
    Offline

    t1.8matt New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wifi tether for root users. change device profile in settings to genetic ics, there ya go.
  6. bbucks36
    Offline

    bbucks36 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando,FL
    after further reading in the forums.. the built in one works flawlessly. but you have to change the ip to 192.168.42.2 or 192.168.99.2
  7. Heero
    Offline

    Heero New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still no luck for me. Quite strange, thanks though.
  8. Heero
    Offline

    Heero New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I resorted to the SQLite Editor hack. Works great in case anyone is looking for a solution.
  9. Scimino
    Offline

    Scimino New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bradenton Florida
    Fox fi still works for me.
  10. lgalcarte
    Offline

    lgalcarte New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The tethering in the settings profile works fine for me with no tweaks. The mobile hotspot said you had to be subscribed to some monthly thing to use so I downloaded the Foxfi app and the mobile hotspot works great! :biggrin:

    Here are the speed tests on my laptop:

    [FONT=comic sans ms,sans-serif]On ICS leak w/ tether through settings: http://speedtest.net/result/2031957030.png

    On ICS leak w/ mobile hotspot on FoxFi: http://www.speedtest.net/result/2031958522.png

    On cable wifi:
    http://speedtest.net/result/2031979171.png

    Not too shabby I must say!

    Now to check out the HDMI and see if I can still watch my shows on my flatscreen TV that I record with DroidTV Primetime...
    [/FONT]
  11. segordon
    Offline

    segordon New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use WiFi Tether for root users and I have no problems with it on .232. It also comes with a widget to allow one touch tethering. And its FREE!!:biggrin: I just tested out Foxfi and it also works but I like having a widget to use to turn on and off. Here is the link for WiFi Tether Google Store
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2012
  12. Droid 51
    Offline

    Droid 51 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have both foxfi and wireless teather and I still can't get them to work its like as soon as I turn either one on my signal just drops but I used foxfi all the time when I was on gingerbread
  13. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,168
    Likes Received:
    544
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    I use foxfi all the time with no problems... idk... its weird.
  14. Droid 51
    Offline

    Droid 51 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well $&%@ Idk either I tried installing and reinstalling it still tells me to use wifi connection and then cuts on my wifi everything else I use just drops data period
  15. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    Wifi tether works fine on both of my bionics. Barnicle and foxfi also.
  16. Droid 51
    Offline

    Droid 51 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I guess I must have done something but I just installed ice this morning and this seems to b the only thing not working
  17. Droid 51
    Offline

    Droid 51 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Went into rom manager selected fix permission and did a reboot and presto foxfi is a working
  18. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH
    Good to hear.
  19. skippythehamster
    Offline

    skippythehamster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks

    Worked for me. thanks bro!
  20. ruinah
    Offline

    ruinah New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    sorry for bringing up something old but I can't get Foxfi or anything to work on .232. I am NOT rooted though. Are there any other tricks? Foxfi was great when it worked on Gingerbread and I have a need for it to work next week for a day.
Search tags for this page
bionic ics tethering
,
bionic tether
,
bionic wifi tether
,
droid bionic ics tether
,
droid bionic wifi tether
,
how to wifi tether with android 4.0 ice cream sandwich
,

ics wifi tether

,
icsw tethering android
,
root wifi hack
,
wifi tether droid 4 ics
,
wifi tether for ice cream sandwich
,

wifi tether ics

,

wifi tether ics razr

,
wifi tether thunderbolt ics
,
wifi tethering ics