Why Root the bionic?

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by THier, Oct 1, 2011.

  1. THier
    Offline

    THier New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Reisterstown MD
    YES I TRIED A SEARCH!!!

    I'm not going to say I would have rooted my Droid with Saphire, over clocked it ect, and made it an even greater Droid then it would have been stock,, but what are the good reasons to root mt new Bionic?

    Thanks,
    Tom
  2. ducky124
    Offline

    ducky124 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i would guess, if you have to ask then there are no reasons to do it. The vast majority of people that own own android phones have no idea about rooting their phone and are no worse for it. rooting is not this magical procedure that will make your phone run better or faster. Rooting will not give you better reception.
    What rooting does for you is give you the ability to customize your phone to make it "your own". It gives you the ability to run certain apps the require root. So if you are happy with the way your stock phone is then the simple answer is "there is no reason to root your phone".
  3. harajyuks
    Offline

    harajyuks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jersey
    Well said

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  4. THier
    Offline

    THier New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Reisterstown MD
    Cool,,, when I got my Droid, it was 2.1, no flash, and such a resource hog it ran ok,, after I went Sapphire, and ran a few tweaks, over clocked it, I was loving it even more. I had to replace it after the charge plug broke,, and VZ gave me a Droid2 Global, and I was pretty pleased with it and never rooted it. I have had the Bionic for two days,, and so far VERY pleased with it and the way it runs. I just haven't had a bunch of time to read up on it,, as I bought it on kind of a whim. I wanted it,, was "eligible" for an upgrade,, then found a great deal at Radio shack that I couldn't pass up. I was kind of curious if there were "major" reasons to root it like there were with the first Droid. I never rooted my wifes Droid, and it took the Froyo upgrade from VZ and she was content with it as she is a little "technically challenged"

    Thanks,
    Tom
  5. TomSr
    Offline

    TomSr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Titanium Backup, certain aspects of Tasker, LBE Privacy Guard, Cachemate for Root Users, Fast Reboot Pro and Adfree Android are apps that I use regularly which require root. Also, once a developer can figure out how to handle dual core phones for over/under clocking, it will require root access.

    Tom
  6. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    While I never rooted my OG Droid, this is the most compelling reason for me to root.
  7. harajyuks
    Offline

    harajyuks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jersey
    how about for the, albeit now simplified, challange... not so much with the Bionic anymore, but I thought it was just fun, being new to the whole thing, when I got my OGD I was 'swept up' in the excitment... waiting to see if my phone would re-boot, wondering if I properly typed the code, it was just a thrill-being I had NEVER done anything like this with a phone. Now I'm growing more confident and expanding the challenges I will undertake; installing ROM's, more customizations... in the end-- through the great efforts of the code breakers; modders; programmers--- I am able to get the EXACT product I was imagining when i bought my phone from my service provider.. MY phone.

    - thats why you root
  8. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No need to root just yet, but once the bootloader is unlocked you 'WILL' want to root so that you can install custom ROMs with custom kernels..... so in the mean time you can just prep yourself of the inner workings of how to root, what you can do once rooted, and how to recover should you soft brick your Bionic...
  9. tgyberg
    Offline

    tgyberg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    239
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    For me using a root app to freeze a lot of the bloatware has made my battery life increase like crazy.
  10. Skrimpy
    Offline

    Skrimpy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont understand why the cariers dont let you freeze the apps anyway. I mean, come on. Really? Just make it an option in the OS to freeze any app the user wants. Not that I could but a good programmer can make a piece of software do anything capable in the hardware. Why not just provide the ability to the user? Its complete bologna if you ask me. You shouldnt have to root the phone to do it. That's just asenine.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  11. tgyberg
    Offline

    tgyberg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    239
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    ^ I agree. But it is what it is so root that bish!
  12. buellboy9
    Offline

    buellboy9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You shouldn't HAVE to freeze the apps... the vendor should make that bloatware DELETE-ABLE, just like on a PC. Everytime I get a new PC, the first thing I do is delete all the CRAP the vendors pre-install. Can't do that with the phone under normal circumstances because they lock all that crap in as "System Software." Even the VCast software that you can download and install from the market. WTF??

    And WHY do they install VZ Navigator (which you have to PAY for to use) when the Google Navigator is not only free, it's MORE ACCURATE!!:icon_evil:
  13. xraymo3
    Offline

    xraymo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well.. if you have had your phone two days, and you are able to Root it, I'd love to hear about it. I have had mine two days, and every computer that I try, I get errors when I click on the root. Realllly want to get my TiBU back and alllll my apps and data.
  14. harajyuks
    Offline

    harajyuks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jersey
    do you have the proper MOTO drivers installed? Motorola_PreRelease_Mobile_Drivers_5.2.1_64bit <- 64bit b/c I am running Win& Ult 64-Bit
  15. xraymo3
    Offline

    xraymo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    None of the computers I have been on would install the 64. I have the 32 installed.
  16. steveninspokane
    Offline

    steveninspokane Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Great post OP, it is nice to be able to be reminded of why I want to root my phone again. Thanks. :)

    @ducky124 I would hate to see your 36 other posts.
  17. Skrimpy
    Offline

    Skrimpy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree. I was just commenting on the only possible way to take care of bloatware and its propensity to open on its own and use up resources no matter how little effect it has on performance.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
should i root my bionic
,

should i root my droid bionic

,
what can i do after rootin bionic
,
what do i need to root the droid bionic
,
why root a droid bionic
,
why root android bionic
,

why root bionic

,
why root boinic
,

why root droid bionic

,
why root my bionic?
,
why root the droid bionic
,
why should i root my droid bionic