Why can't it search contact?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by isitkiller, Dec 13, 2009.

  1. isitkiller

    isitkiller Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am a DROID newbie, I had perfect STORM until now.
    Not so bad DROID. May be I am missing something but
    I explored the entire phone in its entirety and could not
    find a way to search entire contact.

    I have about 1000 contacts and I put specific words in the
    contact NOTES so that I can easily search and find the
    contacts with related words.

    This technique worked for me starting from Windows CE (few generations),
    Plam (few generations), BB......

    Now, this is so frustrating that I can not find my contacts
    on this device by words in the notes. Forget about notes,
    it can't even find contacts if I put first name as follows and
    try to search "Lisa" the later one:

    Greg/Lisa

    I am a PR guy and can not live without this
    feature.

    I will have to return this device if it can not do the basic
    search (which is my basic requirement).

    Please help!!! I just refuse to believe that the such
    smart guys at Android does not have support for
    this and there must be something I am missing.

    Cry,cry,cry!
     
  2. phortwenny

    phortwenny New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nor-Cal
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Droid searches contacts just fine
     
  3. wbbgjr

    wbbgjr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go into contacts and hit the magnifying glass button and it will search the contacts.
     
  4. phortwenny

    phortwenny New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nor-Cal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Search Contacts from Home page......

    on your home page, touch the Google box and a couple letters or touch the mic and say who you want. works great for me and I mumble.
     
  5. phortwenny

    phortwenny New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nor-Cal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Search Contacts from Home page......

    :icon_ banana::motdroidvert::icon_ banana:

    The page that appears when you press the home button of course.
    Not your internet home page
     
  6. isitkiller

    isitkiller Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to sound obnoxious, but the reason why I listed
    all the devices I used in the past is for you to understand
    that this is not the first time I'm using smart phone.

    I don't have any problem searching contacts normally like
    any dummy would expect.

    The problem is searching ENTIRE CONTENTS of the contact.
    Especially NOTES in the contacts.

    Try this and let me know if it works.
    Add a contact with first name as follows:
    (Enter any last name and phone# you wish)

    Greg/Lisa

    After adding the contact, search for "Lisa" and tell
    me if it finds that.

    Hope that clears it up.
     
  7. bamfsig45

    bamfsig45 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ICT
    Ratings:
    +0
    maybe is the forward slash, try a hyphen
     
  8. phortwenny

    phortwenny New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nor-Cal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Search Contacts from Home page......

    Ya No. Slashes like that make it all one word that doesn't work for me. I actually use Spaces between words and the occasional ampersand between names. Never have had problems.:motdroidvert:
    :byeBB:
     
  9. tranz

    tranz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Seattle
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't answer your original question "why?", but I can second it. It sure looks like the Lords of Search got some work to do! The Googlegods don't handle (or won't accept the help of) wildcards either!

    I really wanna stop carrying my old, de-activated Treo with me TOO! Somebody's got to come out with a good contacts app soon, and it really needs to be Google.
     
  10. isitkiller

    isitkiller Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I can use space, hyphen, for the name, how about my contact entries with important
    keywords in the notes?

    In any case, I see this as "search-smart" google failure to search, so much for the hype!
    I hope they fix this in the updates.
     
  11. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have two contacts with the same phone number, why not have separate contact info for each anyway? what if you get each of their email addresses? how are you going to store that?

    i never combine contacts. it's bad practice.
     
  12. isitkiller

    isitkiller Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    W..w...what? I wish people read properly. Searching NOTES in the
    contact has no issue of "two names with same phone number"?

    And why is not that possible? I want to have wife name appear
    in the list when I have 2 Gregs in my contacts and I want to differentiate.
     
  13. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    so have greg and greg's wife as two contacts? not sure what your beef is. what is it in your notes that helps you search your contacts? can you manage your contacts better than recording notes?

    why not use last names? that will help with confusion too.

    help us to understand your requirements and maybe we can help you with a better solution.
     
  14. isitkiller

    isitkiller Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you very much for your interest to help 640k.

    OK here is what my issue. I volunteer at a non-profit org and come
    in contact with lots of people that I do not meet regularly.

    I am surrounded in the community where I have about 500 contacts with exact same last name and other 500 with lots of same last names.

    I can't remember everyone's names; sometimes I remember wife name, sometime husband's. In order to ease my search (so far with every devices but DROID) I put first name as "Husband / Wife".

    So whichever name I remember, I can search.

    I also come into contact with a lot of people that I have to
    carry their info with me for future reference. I can not recall their
    names so i need to search them by what I can use these people
    for (either profession, speciality, hobby whatever that can help
    this non-profit organization). I put all those keywords in the
    NOTES section of the contact. Sometimes I remember their kids
    names, so i include their kids name in the NOTES section as well.

    Later (sometimes year(s) later), when need arises, I search based
    on the need and I find the person. Which can not be done here with
    DROID now.

    I was hoping that this would work without me going through each
    contact and introduce some change in order to achieve this.
    In the worst case, I can do that also.
     
  15. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah i got nothing on that one. company name seems to work, but address doesn't.
     
Search tags for this page
android cannit search contacg
,

android cannot search contact

,
can't search contact in android contact
,
can't search contact on android
,
droid cant find search contacts
,
droid contacts search
,
s4 can'tsearch contact