Where do installed apps go?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by akosnitzky, Nov 21, 2010.

  1. akosnitzky

    akosnitzky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was seeking an auto text app. I downloaded HandCent. I see that its installed but dont see the icon to place settings
     
  2. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    10,581
    Likes Received:
    931
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,018
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Where are you looking? Should be in your app drawer. If you want it on your home screen long press and the menu for shortcuts will come up.

    Sent from somewhere...
     
  3. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Exactly. If it doesn't show up in your app drawer and should be, try rebooting your phone.



    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums app (free in market)
     
  4. akosnitzky

    akosnitzky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you. I did the reboot. I installed TweetDeck with no problem. Handcent doesnt show. Is it possible that it is not supposed to be visible?

    It does show in my Application Management section.
     
  5. pyro6128

    pyro6128 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,517
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +8
    are you sure you installed handcent and not a plugin or font pack for it or something to that effect. Its very odd that an app like that would not show up at all
     
  6. akosnitzky

    akosnitzky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Handcent Keyboad shows in my app management. Maybe there is a compatability issue Are their other autotext apps?
     
  7. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    If it were a compatibility issue, we would've heard a lot more users saying the same thing (unless I've just missed them). Are you sure you installed the app? Sounds like it just installed the font pack instead.



    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums app (free in market)
     
  8. akosnitzky

    akosnitzky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you. If you want to share with others, I did install the proper app but it doesnt get launched. I since found this "FAQ" link. :)


    FAQ
     
  9. ballerv24

    ballerv24 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You said that you downloaded Handcent Keyboard. The app that you are looking for is Handcent SMS.
    The keyboard likely shows up when you longpress on a text-input field. Just search for Handcent SMS and you should be set.
     
  10. pyro6128

    pyro6128 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,517
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yea the keyboard wont work on its own, you need handcent sms, the keyboard is just an add on, so it wouldnt show up in your app drawer
     
  11. akosnitzky

    akosnitzky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for all the responses I found FireKeys which works great

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  12. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...and its autotext will only work with Handcent. If you want autotext in all fields you need to download a keyboard app with the feature, not an add-on for Handcent which is a Messaging app.
     
Search tags for this page
android where do apps get installed
,
where did my android apps go
,
where did my apps go android
,
where do android apps get installed
,

where do apps get installed on android

,
where do apps go on android
,
where do apps go when downloaded android
,

where do downloaded apps go on android

,

where do installed apps go on android

,
where do my apps go when i download them