Voice Activated Dialing

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by onefastford, Nov 20, 2009.

  1. onefastford
    Offline

    onefastford New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't seem to get my voice activated dialing to work. I launch the the voice recognition (either by mic or long press magnifying glass) and speak "call home" it does a google search on call home? Home is a contact. I speak "call amy rice" it does a google search on call amy rice? Amy Rice is a contact. It doesnt even launch anything to do with the phone? What am i doing wrong or whats up?

    Erik
  2. Mark5047
    Offline

    Mark5047 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having the same issue. The only voice dialer that seems to work reliably is the voice dialer app that came preloaded. Any other voice commands launch in a browser.
  3. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Ratings:
    +2
    I cant even get google to search after my voice command....not even if i tab the glass long...how is that done?
  4. Mark5047
    Offline

    Mark5047 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just long press the magnifying glass in the bottom right of the screen and say "call mom home" and it opens a browser with all the wonderful call mom home search results that you get when you enter the same in google. I have tried using the word dial as well.
  5. ss13
    Offline

    ss13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go to Settings --> Search
    You can modify what is searched for.
    I hope I am understanding the issue at hand correctly.
  6. xmnj
    Offline

    xmnj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your using the wrong app for voice dialing. I was doing the same thing, then noticed there is an app in the Applications folder called Voice Dialer. This app does the voice phone calling.
  7. Donkey Hodie
    Offline

    Donkey Hodie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess either I'm lucky or there's some other difference. Note that I've not changed any of the search settings from whatever their default values are. If I:

    • Touch the microphone on the home screen
    • Hold the phone next to my mouth
    • Say "Call Marcia" (my wife's name)

    It places a call to my wife.

    I just tried it and that's exactly what it did.
  8. xmnj
    Offline

    xmnj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here is a link to a video on setting the Google voice search function, should be able to bring up your contacts once you set it.

    Pick the Google search by voice video
    Online Learning Center - Motorola Droid
  9. Trever1t
    Offline

    Trever1t Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Ratings:
    +0
    works good for me too....weird.
  10. Mark5047
    Offline

    Mark5047 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont think you are understanding. My selected searchable items are Browser, apps, contacts & music, and all it searches is the browser. Even if I am in the phone app and long press the magnifying glass all it ever searches is via the browser. I can use the voice dialer just fine, but I would think the main search glass would pick up on the keywords like CALL, DIAL, & NAVIGATE and search accordingly. Some people this seems to be working just fine for, and others not so much.
  11. Donkey Hodie
    Offline

    Donkey Hodie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. Mark5047
    Offline

    Mark5047 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  13. utilityguy2
    Offline

    utilityguy2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Shut phone off completely restart and will then work as suppose to. At least mine does.
  14. Mark5047
    Offline

    Mark5047 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Done that, it didnt change the behavior. Thanks though
  15. uplate
    Offline

    uplate New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am in the same boat. Just had my Droid about three days now. The voice dialer app works fine for making calls. In Quick Search or the voice dialer in Car menu, it always brings up a web search. Frustrating.
Search tags for this page
android phone voice activated calling
,
android voice activated calling
,

android voice activated dialing

,
how to activate voice dialer android
,
voice activated call android
,
voice activated calling
,

voice activated calling android

,

voice activated dialing android

,
voice activated dialing on android phones
,
voice activated phone calls