Voice Activated Dialing

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by onefastford, Nov 20, 2009.

  1. onefastford
    Offline

    onefastford New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't seem to get my voice activated dialing to work. I launch the the voice recognition (either by mic or long press magnifying glass) and speak "call home" it does a google search on call home? Home is a contact. I speak "call amy rice" it does a google search on call amy rice? Amy Rice is a contact. It doesnt even launch anything to do with the phone? What am i doing wrong or whats up?

    Erik
  2. Mark5047
    Offline

    Mark5047 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am having the same issue. The only voice dialer that seems to work reliably is the voice dialer app that came preloaded. Any other voice commands launch in a browser.
  3. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    I cant even get google to search after my voice command....not even if i tab the glass long...how is that done?
  4. Mark5047
    Offline

    Mark5047 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just long press the magnifying glass in the bottom right of the screen and say "call mom home" and it opens a browser with all the wonderful call mom home search results that you get when you enter the same in google. I have tried using the word dial as well.
  5. ss13
    Offline

    ss13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go to Settings --> Search
    You can modify what is searched for.
    I hope I am understanding the issue at hand correctly.
  6. xmnj
    Offline

    xmnj New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your using the wrong app for voice dialing. I was doing the same thing, then noticed there is an app in the Applications folder called Voice Dialer. This app does the voice phone calling.
  7. Donkey Hodie
    Offline

    Donkey Hodie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I guess either I'm lucky or there's some other difference. Note that I've not changed any of the search settings from whatever their default values are. If I:

    • Touch the microphone on the home screen
    • Hold the phone next to my mouth
    • Say "Call Marcia" (my wife's name)

    It places a call to my wife.

    I just tried it and that's exactly what it did.
  8. xmnj
    Offline

    xmnj New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here is a link to a video on setting the Google voice search function, should be able to bring up your contacts once you set it.

    Pick the Google search by voice video
    Online Learning Center - Motorola Droid
  9. Trever1t
    Offline

    Trever1t New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    works good for me too....weird.
  10. Mark5047
    Offline

    Mark5047 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont think you are understanding. My selected searchable items are Browser, apps, contacts & music, and all it searches is the browser. Even if I am in the phone app and long press the magnifying glass all it ever searches is via the browser. I can use the voice dialer just fine, but I would think the main search glass would pick up on the keywords like CALL, DIAL, & NAVIGATE and search accordingly. Some people this seems to be working just fine for, and others not so much.
  11. Donkey Hodie
    Offline

    Donkey Hodie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. Mark5047
    Offline

    Mark5047 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  13. utilityguy2
    Offline

    utilityguy2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Shut phone off completely restart and will then work as suppose to. At least mine does.
  14. Mark5047
    Offline

    Mark5047 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Done that, it didnt change the behavior. Thanks though
  15. uplate
    Offline

    uplate New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am in the same boat. Just had my Droid about three days now. The voice dialer app works fine for making calls. In Quick Search or the voice dialer in Car menu, it always brings up a web search. Frustrating.
  16. Goldenhorn
    Offline

    Goldenhorn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I too was having this problem. I kept thinking that this was an issue with the search settings, or the voice settings.

    For me, the issue was actually in the contacts. I did the steps below to correct this:

    In the Contacts screen, Select 'Accounts'
    Under 'Manage Accounts, select your Google account
    Check the 'Sync Contacts' option. (Mine was unchecked for some reason.)

    If yours is checked, you can uncheck it and check it again to force it to sync. It seems that the voice search actually connects to your Google account and searches your contacts there instead of looking at your local list. I hope this helps someone else out there, I spent some frustrating time hunting this issue down.
  17. jigsawkilr
    Offline

    jigsawkilr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So far mine seems to be working fine. I say call ____ and it dials them. If I say navigate to _____ it goes there. If I just say a restaurant name it googles it then I select which one I want and navigate to it. Love it!
  18. metsnfins
    Offline

    metsnfins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when i voice dial someone, it comes up with the wrong facebook picture. if i contact dial them it comes up with the correct one
  19. rudeboy
    Offline

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    NO voice command??? Who the hell figured that was a good idea? All you have is 8 speed dial choices with ur bluetooth. Man that was dumb...one of the simplest, basic functions MISSING. Now while driving, one has to pick up the phone and thumb thru ur contact list or hit the mic, or hit voice dialer...WOW. Try all that at night on a rainy day. Big points lost for that!!
  20. CaryH
    Offline

    CaryH New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hopefully this will help those that might have the same problem of not being able to Voice Dial using the regular Voice Search (Not the Voice Dialer). I had verified that I was syncing my Contacts with my Google Contacts and it was fairly obvious because I could see all the same Contacts on my Droid. I also verified that my Contacts were "checked" in my searchable items but whenever I would say: "Call John Doe at Mobile" it would just take me to the Google Search browser page searching for: Call John Doe at Mobile. It wouldn't search through the 300+ contacts I had in my Google Contacts.

    ***The problem is that your individual Contacts in Google Contacts need to be in your "My Contacts" group not just the "All Contacts" group. Once I moved all the contacts into the "My Contacts" group (or the "Friends" or "Family" groups which implicitly put them in the "My Contacts" group), the Voice Dialing through the Voice Search works better that using the Voice Dialer since it dials directly rather than having to select a narrowed down selection list.

    I'm so glad I finally got this to work and it makes the voice dialing really worth while.
Search tags for this page
activate voice dialer android
,
android phone voice activated calling
,
android voice activated calling
,

android voice activated dialing

,
how to activate voice dialer android
,
voice activated call android
,
voice activated calling
,

voice activated calling android

,
voice activated dialer for android
,

voice activated dialing android

,
voice activated dialing on android phones
,
voice activated phone calls