Voice Activated Dialing

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by onefastford, Nov 20, 2009.

  1. utilityguy2

    utilityguy2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Shut phone off completely restart and will then work as suppose to. At least mine does.
     
  2. Mark5047

    Mark5047 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Done that, it didnt change the behavior. Thanks though
     
  3. uplate

    uplate New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am in the same boat. Just had my Droid about three days now. The voice dialer app works fine for making calls. In Quick Search or the voice dialer in Car menu, it always brings up a web search. Frustrating.
     
  4. Goldenhorn

    Goldenhorn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I too was having this problem. I kept thinking that this was an issue with the search settings, or the voice settings.

    For me, the issue was actually in the contacts. I did the steps below to correct this:

    In the Contacts screen, Select 'Accounts'
    Under 'Manage Accounts, select your Google account
    Check the 'Sync Contacts' option. (Mine was unchecked for some reason.)

    If yours is checked, you can uncheck it and check it again to force it to sync. It seems that the voice search actually connects to your Google account and searches your contacts there instead of looking at your local list. I hope this helps someone else out there, I spent some frustrating time hunting this issue down.
     
  5. jigsawkilr

    jigsawkilr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So far mine seems to be working fine. I say call ____ and it dials them. If I say navigate to _____ it goes there. If I just say a restaurant name it googles it then I select which one I want and navigate to it. Love it!
     
  6. metsnfins

    metsnfins Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    when i voice dial someone, it comes up with the wrong facebook picture. if i contact dial them it comes up with the correct one
     
  7. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    NO voice command??? Who the hell figured that was a good idea? All you have is 8 speed dial choices with ur bluetooth. Man that was dumb...one of the simplest, basic functions MISSING. Now while driving, one has to pick up the phone and thumb thru ur contact list or hit the mic, or hit voice dialer...WOW. Try all that at night on a rainy day. Big points lost for that!!
     
  8. CaryH

    CaryH New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hopefully this will help those that might have the same problem of not being able to Voice Dial using the regular Voice Search (Not the Voice Dialer). I had verified that I was syncing my Contacts with my Google Contacts and it was fairly obvious because I could see all the same Contacts on my Droid. I also verified that my Contacts were "checked" in my searchable items but whenever I would say: "Call John Doe at Mobile" it would just take me to the Google Search browser page searching for: Call John Doe at Mobile. It wouldn't search through the 300+ contacts I had in my Google Contacts.

    ***The problem is that your individual Contacts in Google Contacts need to be in your "My Contacts" group not just the "All Contacts" group. Once I moved all the contacts into the "My Contacts" group (or the "Friends" or "Family" groups which implicitly put them in the "My Contacts" group), the Voice Dialing through the Voice Search works better that using the Voice Dialer since it dials directly rather than having to select a narrowed down selection list.

    I'm so glad I finally got this to work and it makes the voice dialing really worth while.
     
  9. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Forget Bells and Whistles and give me a phone

    Look at the end of the day, we all want this thing to be a phone. A well designed, functional ...phone. I am *****ing about voice dialing as much as a lot of other people. Ok at the very least, give us a dedicated hard key for the phone. this way if you have to scroll to a previously called number (not just the last number), then you have a chance to communicate on the go a little easier than 3 steps to a contact list. It's just simpler.
     
  10. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    You sound pretty unhappy about this. Hopefully you're still in your 30 day return period. Maybe you can find a better performing phone. I rather doubt it though.
     
  11. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nah, disappointed with the phone functions. Overall 75% satisfied with the features. I just want the simple things to be better
     
  12. cuskit

    cuskit Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hanging Out at the Jersey Shore
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can reduce that to 2 steps (or one) by making a folder on your home screen with direct dial numbers (2 clicks) or an icon each for a couple of your most often dialed numbers (1 click). Though that's not usually a good option as it robs you of your available home screen widgets. Still using the default three screens, I've created a folder on my (right) screen for my 12 most often called numbers. Direct dial is cool.

    mikey
     
Search tags for this page
android phone voice activated calling
,
android voice activated calling
,
android voice activated dialing
,
how to activate voice dialer android
,
voice activated call android
,
voice activated calling
,

voice activated calling android

,

voice activated dialing android

,
voice activated dialing on android phones
,
voice activated phone calls