Verizon Razr Hotspot problem solved.

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by truebluebpb, Mar 22, 2012.

  1. truebluebpb

    truebluebpb Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Problem: Could not connect my Win 7 HP laptop (8 mos. old) to the hotspot. (Working on problem since December.) Tried techs at Verizon, Motorola, HP, forums, paid techs online to no avail. In my own deductions, I figured the problem was with laptop since Hotspot connected with my Vista laptop, Kindle and iPod with no trouble. THE POSITIVE RESULT IS: I DOWNLOADED AND INSTALLED AN UPDATED DRIVER FOR MY LAPTOP Ralink RT5390 802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi Adapter. Surprise!!! It works with no problem. Glad I didn't cancel my unlimited Hotspot.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForum.
     
  2. justin82

    justin82 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Ratings:
    +216
    good job congrats on fixing i am sure this will come in handy for others . like me :biggrin:my wife has been having problem connecting phone to laptop .. everything else works ok .. will try that .. thanks
     
  3. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    That could be why some ppl have issues with hotspot and some don't. Might be an issue on the other end and not the phone.

    I know I never had problems connecting to my blu ray player or a Co worker's kindle.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  4. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    An all too obvious problem many suffer with, and bang their heads on the wall while trying to troubleshoot. Great investigative and troubleshooting work. I'm just sorry it took you 3 months to resolve it. We need to keep this information prominent in the forum. This problem comes from poor programming by the manufacturers of the devices *(in your case the manufacturer of the WIFI chip - Ralink)*, but fortunately for you they provided a fix in their updated driver.

    UPDATE YOUR WINDOWS OR MAC DRIVERS!! This can't be stressed strongly enough. Older drivers can wreak havvoc on your PC and as in the example above lead you to believe the OTHER device is the cause when all along it was the laptop.

    Great post.
     
  5. Gleason81

    Gleason81 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not trying to burst your bubble but there's a free app called FoxFi that does the same as your paid VZW paid-for app. Be patient though, it takes 1-2 minutes to connect...this is where most just say..."hey, it doesn't work"...be patient...takes longer to connect....but 100% free...no strings attached....NO ROOT NEEDED!!!!!!
     
  6. marlonvps

    marlonvps Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    This happens to me all the time, I have asked Verizon about it, and keep getting the run around. The hotspot keeps working, the data connection seems to drop.
     
  7. truebluebpb

    truebluebpb Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Addendum: another reason I suspected my computer was the problem connecting to Verizon Hotspot is I downloaded PDAnet and the tethering worked fine but I couldn't connect to FoxFi. My Vista laptop, Kindle, and iPod Touch connected to FoxFi. My wifi adapter update in my Win7 laptop was the solution.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  8. maryMAZ

    maryMAZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    tethering iPad or laptop with FoxFi

    I have successfully downloaded Foxfi but neither my laptop nor my iPad are picking up the signal. Is there a setting I need to change on these devices? On my old phone (Droid Incredible), I successfully used PDA.net on my laptop, but my laptop does not recognize my new phone (Samsung Droid).
     
  9. truebluebpb

    truebluebpb Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am no expert but....
    I would be sure your computer recognizes your phone. Seems important first step.
    For me, after I updated my laptop Wi-Fi adapter driver on my laptop, I didn't do anything special but immediately could connect to Verizon Hotspot and FoxFi with no trouble. Have full-bar connection to each of them.
     
  10. truebluebpb

    truebluebpb Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Back to ground zero. I thought my problem was solved connecting my laptop to Hotspot by updating the laptop wifi adaptor driver. It really did work and connect. But that same win7 HP laptop said a wifi adaptor update was available so I updated. Now I can't connect to my Hotspot but can with my Vista Dell laptop. Just like before. I'm not giving up. Perserverence is my word for today.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  11. kxcombs

    kxcombs New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Help!!!

    so ive been having the same issue but the update didnt help. I have a lenovo with the same wifi adapter on windows 7 but every time i try to connect to my razr's hotspot it tells me "unable to connect". i can connect with an xbox360, a mac and all other phones i come in to contact with. im actually tier 2 support for the big guy (cant say their name or ill get fired) and there is absolutely nothing in our information to fix this problem. i know it has to be on the adapter side but i cant get any f'n help from microsoft, they jus say its on the manufacturers side. u sound like a pretty knowledgeable person and i could use any tip or idea that u might have. some steps ive already taken on the pc side is unistall/reinstall, changed the ip and dns settings to manually connect, added the mac address to my razr to look specifically for it and nothing is helping. again if u have any suggestions lemme kno
     
  12. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Could you tell me if you are using the build-in Verizon HotSpot client or another that you downloaded such as Foxfi?
     
Search tags for this page
cannot connect to am server mobile hotspot
,
connecing to motorola droid razr hd hot spot
,
could not connect to am server mobile hotspot
,
droid razr hotspot computer not connecting
,

droid razr hotspot not working

,
motorola droid razr hotspot issues
,
motorola droid razr hotspot problems
,
verizon hotspot drops connection
,
verizon hotspot to blueray
,

your phone cannot connect to verizon server