Using on other carriers?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by marcusm, Nov 4, 2009.

  1. marcusm
    Offline

    marcusm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know much about the different bands that companies work on. I was hoping to get the Droid on a one year contract ($169 right?) because I like paying a bit extra but being able to get out of a contract sooner. I was hoping I would have the option to switch over to a different carrier with the Droid if I wanted to at the end of the contract. Is that possible in the US?
    Thanks
  2. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,631
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    At this point not really. This is a CDMA phone only. There is a GSM version of this phone coming to the states (out on the 11th for germany). There will be the one that will be compatible with other carriers.
  3. medicTHREE
    Offline

    medicTHREE New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the moto droid is 199 on a 2 year contract, so def not 169 on 1 year. Further, CDMA devices are locked to carrier so you can't take it to another carrier.
  4. mth04
    Offline

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Some VZW phones including BB have been reflashed and used on Metro PCS FYI. It may not be the best thing but it has been done. I am sure this option wont be available right away though. It usually takes a few months before they get thier software right for it ;)
  5. medicTHREE
    Offline

    medicTHREE New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    WIth limited results. They almost always sacrifice some sort of functionality to do this.
  6. marcusm
    Offline

    marcusm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oops, typing error. I meant $269.

    And that is kind of disappointing. What's the eta on the GSM model? Any word or rumors?
  7. medicTHREE
    Offline

    medicTHREE New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No rumors of US based GSM model. There is a european model, but it doesn't have US GSM frequencies.
  8. marcusm
    Offline

    marcusm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah that puts a damper on my plans. Thanks for the advice guys!
  9. garrett
    Offline

    garrett Active Member Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    there is no word if it is even comming to the united states.... from what i understand vzw will be the only US carrier with this phone.

    I think the closest a GSM droid will come to the US is Rogers Wireless in Canada.
Search tags for this page
can droid x2 work with other mobile carrier?
,
can i use motorola droid 3 with other carriers
,
can motorola droid r2d2 be used with other carriers
,
can the droid 3 connect to different carriers
,

droid phone that work with other carriers

,
what carriers work with droid x2