Unactivated phone can't access market through wifi

steelersrock

Reaction score
Hi all,

Please be nice as I am brand new to this! I bought a used droid (it has a clean esn) for my 12 year old thinking he could still use it on wifi and access the market to download apps etc. without actually activating it on an expensive plan. I can access wifi, surf the web, pull up my gmail, but it will not pull up the market. I have pulled the battery, done a factory reset, cleared cache, all things I was able to find on these forums but nothing has worked. When I touch market it comes up as "Attention: An error has occurred. Please try again later." And the background screen says "Web page not available". I'm sorry if the answer is somewhere else but I have spent hours the last two days reading so many posts and have not found a solution yet. I know it is possible, it is probably something simple but I am not very knowledgable about these things. My son and I would appreciate any help! Thanks!

Droid Kain

Reaction score
Is it the android market app? Or Google play? If its not Google play (the new market version) you might have to download and install it... just guessing into the wind. The original DROID came with market app stock so if its inactivated it probably doesn't have the Google play app installed. Hence the errors. Just Google "Google play apk" and download it then install it. Might have to allow 3rd party app install too... assuming that this is your problem...

I had similar errors on a friends device where he somehow managed to delete the market without loosing the icon (weird I know). I installed from the stand alone apk and had to reboot the phone. Worked fine afterwards. Hope this helps

Droid RAZR Tapatalk 2

nikecar

Reaction score
When you access from your PC the marketplace (https://play.google.com/) are you signed in there? Under the settings (https://play.google.com/store/account) do you see your device?