home Wifi not working

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by Dawn41, Oct 8, 2011.

  1. mikedyk43

    mikedyk43 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You might need to check your router settings. Look specifically at the number of IP addresses your router is set up to assign and also the duration of that assignment. You may have a situation where you have had enough devices connected to your router that it will not allow any new devices to connect. If you are not familiar with how to log into your router, either reply here or PM me and I will give you a complete walk through.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  2. danrawls

    danrawls New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a droid 3 taht is having wireless connectivity issues. this is not working at our office is not working or office who is an, I called motorola and they helped me reset the router last week, it worked for 1 day and not again.
    also, the wireless connection is FAIR TO POOR at my house with this phone and was never that way with my droid LG ally.
    please advise,
    my email is danrawls@bnitn.com
     
  3. mikedyk43

    mikedyk43 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please check your email and get back to me.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  4. danrawls

    danrawls New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    please text me your name and #

    Please PM any private information.
     
    #16 danrawls, Dec 12, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 13, 2011
  5. kmworkman

    kmworkman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So here's the deal. I have a new Bionic and I'm able to connect to my work WiFi but when I come home I'm able to connect to my home WiFi but no joy for passing traffic. I rebooted my router, verified that I was pulling the correct IP and I have no restrictions for mac's on my home router. I'm passing traffic on all other wireless devices in my home (to include the PC I'm currently typing this message). I've rebooted the phone, reset the wireless WEP and still no joy. Before I spend the time to WireShark my wireless traffic I wanted to know if this is a bug with the Bionic? I'm running my Apple AirPort in Bridge mode and I have a commercial grade router (DHCP server). Any suggestions?
     
  6. mikedyk43

    mikedyk43 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had this with the D3 and found the issue seemed to be with using a wireless-n router (802.11n). I found that regardless of security (WEP, WPA, WPA2 or none) I still had issues. Changing the router settings to wireless-g (802.11g) was the solution I found. After rooting and installing CM7 and later CM9, I was able to use wireless-n protocol again. To me, this is a clear indication that there was/is something wrong with Motorola's software that caused the issue. If you are running stock software and wireless-n on your router, your two possible solutions include changing your phone's rom to an AOSP ROM or using wireless-g only on your router. I could be wrong, but test this out for yourself and post your findings.
     
  7. kmworkman

    kmworkman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    The problem I have is that my AirPort is 802.11n with back compatibility to b/g. I'm not able to choose only 802.11b, sadly this is a work phone and I wasn't thinking about rooting the phone until now. I agree that it appears to be an issue with the software (how did they not find this in there testing).
     
  8. mikedyk43

    mikedyk43 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not 802.11b, 802.11g. If you are unable to select that, you might need to look into a ROM.

    Sent from my XT862 using Tapatalk
     
  9. doogald

    doogald Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +42
    I have a D3 with Airport routers in the house (three of them, one on each floor, all set to the same SSID and running 802.11 n with b/g compatible* with WPA2) and the D3 connects just fine to all of them. I had a Bionic for a couple of weeks and that worked fine here as well.


    * Actually, the newest Airport Extreme at the border - so, the connection to the internet that all the other routers are bridged to - is set to "Automatic", though it says underneath "802.11 a/n - 802.11 b/g/n".
     
  10. kmworkman

    kmworkman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    B or G isn't an option......look out ROM here I come. Thank you for the suggestions!!
     
  11. kmworkman

    kmworkman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did a deep dive into my router and wireshark my Bionic traffic and it appears that my router is causing the issue. I can see the Droid sending a SNY packet but my router is reporting " Blocked NAT- out fail, First packet in connection is not a SYN packet: TCP 192.168.20.3:49180->17.149.36.158:5223 on ixp1". I then removed my router from my network and hung my AirPort off my cable modem directly allowing my Droid to pull a public IP. The Droid worked like a champ! I apologize to Motorola for blaming there software. As for my "Carrier Access Adit 3500" home router that is no longer supported by Turin or provides a software update or new release since 2008.....well my 11 year old son gets to take it apart now. A death reserved only for equipment that fails epically!
     
  12. mikedyk43

    mikedyk43 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So the Droid will not work if NAT is enabled on the router? I would like a better understanding g of this issue since I have had many people ask about it. I never really dug that deep since I have my primary router (802.11n) and a wireless bridge (802.11g) in my house and stopped investigating when I could connect with the bridge and not the primary.
     
Search tags for this page

android 2.3.4 wifi problem

,
android 2.3.7 wifi problem
,

android wifi authentication problem

,
android wifi disabled
,

android wireless not working

,
authentication problem wifi
,
droid razr wifi not working
,
wifi authentication problem motorola droid dna
,
wifi problem android 2.3.4
,
wireless not working on android