1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Tried installing froyo.. didnt work out

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate Development' started by fordee11, Feb 9, 2011.

  1. fordee11
    Offline

    fordee11 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so i tried rooting, it worked
    i tried putting froyo on, didnt work out right...
    now my phone wont vibrate at all..
    ideas? I'd like to just go back to stock and unroot if i can thanks
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    What did you root it with?
  3. fordee11
    Offline

    fordee11 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    That same page tells you how to remove the root. All you need is a terminal emulator tor run the commands, if you don't have one already.
  5. fordee11
    Offline

    fordee11 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    none of that makes sense to me.

    i could care less if its rooted or not.. i just want the stock 2.1 back.. i'm concerned with it not vibrating.
    will this fix it from not vibrating?
  6. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Well, what you do is simply type in the commands line for line in the terminal emulator. When you remove root you will be back at stock provided you didn't hide any files.

    zi'm sorry, I don't know of any other way to do it. There is z4Root that you can download and just simply press the unroot button but I'm not sure it will work with the Fascinate. Take a look a t XDA developers .com and make sure it will work with the Fascinate. To be honest, I dontt think it does but I could be wrong.
  7. fordee11
    Offline

    fordee11 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried that just now.. its saying there is an error at the end of each line
  8. forstir9
    Offline

    forstir9 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    http://forum.androidcentral.com/ver...includes-full-instructions-updated-2-5-a.html

    I used the method posted above and it worked flawlessly. Once you have 2.2 you won't ever want to see 2.1. By the way I think the vibrate feature works better with 2.2. It could just be me though. The phone volume is alot better as well. Apps2sd and flash support. Don't give up, the method I posted only takes about 10 minutes. If I can do it than trust me anyone can.

    Froyo 2.2 thanks to the devs
  9. fordee11
    Offline

    fordee11 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i'll try it..
    its ok to do the one you just posted even if i have half of a different procedure done?
  10. forstir9
    Offline

    forstir9 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That I don't know maybe someone better with rooting can answer that. I just got my first smart phone about a month ago and this was my first time rooting. Now that I have 2.2 and built in root I can invest some time into seeing what a rooted phone can do for me. Good luck.

    Froyo 2.2 thanks to the devs
  11. fordee11
    Offline

    fordee11 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for the link
  12. Swvapunk69
    Offline

    Swvapunk69 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  13. fordee11
    Offline

    fordee11 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    thanks for the link... it worked flawlessly for me too
  14. forstir9
    Offline

    forstir9 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great to hear, was it worth the hassle?

    Froyo 2.2 thanks to the devs
  15. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    Thats a very good link/thread....I'm gonna post it here to help out people that need an easier way than the usual....good find
  16. fordee11
    Offline

    fordee11 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    YES.. i couldn't imagine it without Froyo. Especially because of the lag fixes.. not to mention the ton of others.

    forstir9's post was a great find.. i would recommend it to anyone, especially the inexperienced people.
  17. cdroid1
    Offline

    cdroid1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could I use this already with super user access or is the a way I have to unroot then do it

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums