Traveling to Rome and have questions.....

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by ZBacks, Jun 30, 2014.

  1. ZBacks

    ZBacks Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The wife and I are leaving for Rome in a couple weeks and I am wondering what my best option for using our phones while there. I have a Droid RZR MAXX and she has a S5. Verizon doesn't have a "plan" for Italy so I'm wondering what my best option will be to be able to access data and call home to the kids? Thanks!
     
  2. Dusty

    Dusty Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,179
    Likes Received:
    480
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    DC/NoVA
    Ratings:
    +594
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Buy a moto g or any cheap gsm phone and pick up a pay as you go Sim card at the Tim or Wind store. I was in Rome just over a year ago and 5GB of data and 500 minutes and a few hundred texts was CHEAP. I tethered devices and used Skype the whole time no problem.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. ZBacks

    ZBacks Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are those stores there in Rome or here in the US?
     
  4. Dusty

    Dusty Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,179
    Likes Received:
    480
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    DC/NoVA
    Ratings:
    +594
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    They're eurpoean carriers. I found coverage was OK but not great for both carriers over there. In Rome they had stores in quite a few locations.
     
  5. beeray

    beeray Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used my Vz in Italy
     
  6. ZBacks

    ZBacks Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How much did you pay for roaming?
     
  7. ZBacks

    ZBacks Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a old S3 from AT&T will that work as is or will it have to be unlocked? And if it has to be unlocked is that fairly easy to do? Thanks again.
     
  8. beeray

    beeray Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I paid $30 for 100mb.
     
  9. ZBacks

    ZBacks Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was 100mb enough? How long was your trip and what is your normal usage?

    Thanks.
     
  10. beeray

    beeray Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It was plenty because there is free WiFi all over
     
  11. promo87

    promo87 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, you are travelling to Rome I don't think there is any need to get a new sim card and a data plan you can find a number of public wifi, I am sure you can use Skype over the wireless network to call your kids at home. And yes one more thing while you are in the transit i.e inside the airport in rome for checking things out ask the staff for "I don't remeber what its called but if you ask for sim card they will give you a temporary sim which can be used for sometime...." Try asking them i am sure they will provide such service.
     
  12. beeray

    beeray Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Believe it or not, there is Starbucks and McDonalds with great free wifi.
     
Search tags for this page

can i use my moto x in rome