europe from U.S with droid

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by coke4r, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. coke4r

    coke4r New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    HELP....europe from U.S with droid

    Please before everybody tells me to search this, trust me i have searched everywhere. I will be travelling in a couple weeks to england, france, switzerland, and italy. I have a droid and my wife has a droid2. I know that i cannot use my droid as normal over there to make calls. I really need to call people that are also in Europe and not the states. All that i find is in searches is people trying to call back home to the states but that is really secondary to me. I have seen numerous things mentioned about google voice and skype. I have honestly never used either and am pretty "slow" with all of the lingo that goes with them. I have read that I can get a loaner from verizon as well and really do not want to have to, unless this is the very last resort.

    So I guess to make a very long question short, can someone help me figure out what is the best way to be able to contact people from my droid while in Europe?
     
    #1 coke4r, Mar 30, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2011
  2. coke4r

    coke4r New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  3. boostedhonda

    boostedhonda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    740
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've seen most people suggest just getting a prepaid gsm phone and using that overseas.

    Sent From My Gingerbread Droid 1
     
  4. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +17
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    Take it with you, put it in airplane mode so you don't waste the battery. Use it as a phone book. Get a prepaid phone that you can give to a friends kid in Europe or throw it away when you come back. I looked into it for my mom and its significantly cheaper to do it this way. Good luck and have fun. Don't forget to call Verizon a get the D2 activated for global use.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  5. boostedhonda

    boostedhonda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    740
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Droid 2 isn't a global phone. Only the d2g is.


    Sent From My Gingerbread Droid 1
     
  6. jacobbond

    jacobbond New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Florianopolis, Brazil
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would pick up a cheap GSM phone. There is some networks in Europe that use CDMA technology (what the Droid and Droid 2 use) but its not as prevalent as GSM which uses a SIM card. Google voice only works in the US but Skype would work if you use wi-fi, but you wouldn't have a local phone number. I'd suggest getting a cheap GSM phone, its the best solution.
     
  7. tennvol

    tennvol Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Or call vzw and rent a phone to use.

    Personally I would try and buy a cheap gsm phone. Im about to travel to the uk for my annual trip to Scotland and im going to use mobile uk payg. Calls back to the us are 5p and a month of unlimited data is something like 15gbp. That's a steal

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums
     
  8. jacobbond

    jacobbond New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Florianopolis, Brazil
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is a pretty nice deal - good find there tennvol! 15gbp for unlimited data seems like a good deal, what kind of speeds do you get? 3g?
     
  9. tennvol

    tennvol Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just went to top up my TM UK SIM (leaving tomorrow for Scotland) and noticed that the price is actually 5GBP for a month of unlimited data.

    TM UK's coverage is pretty good everywhere except for my inlaws house (stone house) and I generally have 2G everywhere except city centre of Glasgow and around larger population bases.

    My wife has a VodaPhone SIM in her blackberry and gets service everywhere, but the price is crazy high, IIRC it's like 15GBP for 250mb of data...which is like 1 day for me.

    The cheapest way I get inbound calls is forwarding my US VZW number to Google Voice, then sending the GV to localphone, then localphone to my UK SIM. Rate is $0.17/minute from localphone to my TM UK Sim (incomming calls in the UK are free for all providers). GV needs to allow international call forwarding.

    This is my first trip with a Droid overseas so hopefully things will work out, I'm taking my unlocked GSM BB with me as a backup though.
     
  10. jacobbond

    jacobbond New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Florianopolis, Brazil
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the update. I asked about the speeds because I know certain providers in the US who promise unlimited data then slow you down once you reach a certain threshold. Google voice will forward to a UK number?? I thought it didn't really do anything international.. How did you manage that?
     
  11. tennvol

    tennvol Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ill check the speeds tomorrow when I get there.

    You're right, GO will not forward to a UK number. I have to have GO forward to localphone.com then forward to my uk sim

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums
     
  12. xan

    xan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    FWIW; VRZ told 3 of my friends that their phones would work in EU. -They did not work at all!

    id would even be skeptical of their loaners.

    I would get a prepaid when you get there.