Touch Screen barely usable when USB attached?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by gszeman, Apr 12, 2010.

  1. gszeman
    Offline

    gszeman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Novi, MI
    Hi all,

    I've had my droid for about 4 days now and I love it...except when I plug the USB cable in...

    The touch screen becomes pretty much useless when the USB is attached. You can see it trying to register, but it usually ends up hitting an icon 2 rows over...and if you try to scroll it either jumps around way too fast or opens an app not even close to where you are touching. The Back, Menu, Home and Search icons are the same way as well.

    When I unplug the USB it works perfectly...I even removed my screen protector thinking maybe that had something to do with it...nope.

    I'm assuming I need to take it back to Verizon...but I was hoping not to have to do that since I got it all organized how I want it :p

    Thanks,
    Glenn
  2. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    It's the usb cable. There is a known issue with some usb cables. Try a different/better one. They won't all work. Just swap around to different ones until you find one that works. It's not the droid.

    Well, in most cases it's not the droid. It's almost always the cable (even some from Verizon and Motorola don't work well).
  3. Game4set
    Offline

    Game4set New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well this also happens with my phone when I plug it into my laptop. The way to make my screen usable again is by removing the AC adapter from my computer for some reason. I think it has to do with some electric currents or something.
  4. kook
    Offline

    kook Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Happens to me with certain plugs.
  5. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,276
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    LOL
    Not laughing at you, but rather I posted up pages of just this and you put it in texct so much better than I did.

    Mine corrected itself when I got home from the vacation I was on when it started acting up.
  6. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,782
    Likes Received:
    574
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    are you using the usb cable that came with your Droid?

    there have been many stories of rogue droids with faulty cables plugged in.
  7. gszeman
    Offline

    gszeman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Novi, MI
    Thanks for the replies...ive been looking for a better cable, but in the meantime i found out that if i use a different port it sometimes works better...

    Thanks,
    Glenn

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  8. trumpet444
    Offline

    trumpet444 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    same problem here. mine happens to be useless when plugged up via usb to a pc, but not a mac. also when plugged up in my car using an ac/dc converter. (i don't yet have an official car charger)
  9. gszeman
    Offline

    gszeman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Novi, MI

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk

    Yeah, its the cable. that came with it
  10. hellrose1228
    Offline

    hellrose1228 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Like Game4set said, if youre using a laptop, try unplugging the power and just run on battery (if possible). no matter what cable i used it always makes my droid go nutz unless i unplug my computer
Search tags for this page

touch screen problem when plugging in usb