To unroot, or keep rooted?

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by Mishael, Jan 15, 2011.

  1. Mishael

    Mishael Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    INFO:
    droid 1
    rooted
    cvpcs sapphire 1.1.1

    my phone is ok but its getting a little old and EXCRUCIATINGLY ANNOYING because the my damn homescreen never loads and ive asked about 10,000 times why this happens but no one actually will tell me why its happening or how to fix it. my phone is so slow it just kills me to use it. i overclock my cpu as well. ive been thinking of unrooting because im sick of no updates for sapphire. i want something more, new. but its not availible.

    now, i dont really use any rooted features except for titanium backup, ad free, and the occasional wired tether. the huge selling point is the black theme i have. i HATE HATE HATE the droid 1's theme colors. i really like the dark colors.

    any suggestions for my problems:
    1. homescreen loads very slow, app list is worse...fixes? (it only happens some of the time...)
    2. any good theme solutions for unrooted phones?
    3. any better rooted roms?
    4. any other tips?
     
  2. 666ogre666

    666ogre666 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well there are alot of things that can make it faster, clear dalvik cache; try cache cleaner, update to sapphire 2.0.0. As far as themes, try out linear, its super clean and, well, linear haha. Also, get either launcherpro or adw launcher and use samsonites redraw fix. You can search for that
    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  3. Mishael

    Mishael Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ive cleared my cache several times, but with no noticeable increase in performance. i couldnt find the 2.0.0 update...
     
  4. 666ogre666

    666ogre666 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well flashing a new rom always helps. Sapphire is in rom manager, I suggest getting titanium backup, backing up your apps, then doing a wipe and starting fresh with 2.0.0, if that doesn't make it faster then I don't know.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  5. Mishael

    Mishael Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you look in my first post though, i state i use titanium backup. ive started fresh 3 times. ive given up with that. i just really want a change. i REALLY like the blacked out theme for 2.0.0 so im going to definitely get that
     
  6. TMYINC

    TMYINC Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    sapphire:releases:2.0.0 [CCRoms Wiki]

    Go here and download both the rom and the gapps. Reboot into recovery, wipe data and cache. Install the rom first and then install gapps. Make sure you install both while in recovery, there have been some issues with flashing the rom, rebooting, then flashing gapps. Also you can download rom manager from the market. Sapphire roms are in the free version I believe. When it prompts you, select the rom and gapps too. When done downloading make sure you check mark the wipe data and cache box, and if you want to back up your current rom (suggested) then check that box too. I hope one of these ways works out for ya. Good luck.

    Edit: You posted right before me so I didn't see it lol. The Blacked out theme is awesome so you got a good eye for a great theme.
     
  7. rrrrrrredbelly

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. Laur3nNewm4n

    Laur3nNewm4n Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    Ratings:
    +5
    I would also suggest a complete wipe and then flashing a new, updated ROM. Have you experimented with other ROMs? Every phone has its nuances, so what works for one person may not for you.
     
  9. gambit07

    gambit07 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/bugless/106601-bb0-5-tips-reinvigorating-your-droid.html

    Those tips should help out, however after doing a clean data/cache wipe and installing a new rom you shouldn't have any issues with homescreen redraws. Are you using LP or ADW Ex? I've used both and like both but I haven't had any redraw issues with ADW. Do a clean wipe and install 2.0, then reinstall your applications fresh, I wouldn't try to restore them.
     
  10. Mishael

    Mishael Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i was just about to say. ADW either has terrible redraw or just stops responding to the point of it being unusable. i havent wiped in a long while because it takes way too long to reinstall all my apps. the last few times i did it didnt show any advantages, and i dont like losing my app data. i dont know why titatium backup didnt work

    i love the blacked out though. its so amazing
     
  11. ducky124

    ducky124 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    i was having the same redraw issues with 1.1. I installed the 2.0 and now the beta 2.02 releases and all is finally working fine. I definatly know how annoying it can be having to wait for the redraw
     
  12. jimholcomb

    jimholcomb New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just realized that fix gets wiped out when installing a new ROM. I need to make a note to backup that file and then restore it after an upgrade.

    Jim
     
Search tags for this page

adfree android 4. unroot

,
unroot adw
,
unroot phone or keep it rooted