To Root or not to Root

Keith.Visalus

Reaction score
Hello,

First off let me express that all though I am pretty technical as far as Windows Systems go I am a Total NOOB when it comes to Droids... I just got my first one about 2 weeks ago and just got the Samsung Galaxy Tablet WiFi only. I plan on using both for my home based business.

I know i plan on Rooting it eventually as I learn more but not sure if now is the best time to do it and honestly dont fully understand the Pro's and Con's of it.

My current delema is that I would like to use my cells dataplan for my WiFi only tablet. I found one article walking through the steps on using Barnacle WiFi Tether to set this up, but as im sure you know, the phone needs to be Rooted...

So I was hoping for some advice on the pros and cons on Rooting my Rezound. Possibly pointing me to a good thread to walk through the steps on and maybe there is a better way to setup the Wi-Fi Tethering.

Here is the information from the Software Info:
Android Version: 2.3.4
HTC Sense ver: 3.5
Software Num: 1.02.605.6

huskur

Reaction score
Hello,

First off let me express that all though I am pretty technical as far as Windows Systems go I am a Total NOOB when it comes to Droids... I just got my first one about 2 weeks ago and just got the Samsung Galaxy Tablet WiFi only. I plan on using both for my home based business.

I know i plan on Rooting it eventually as I learn more but not sure if now is the best time to do it and honestly dont fully understand the Pro's and Con's of it.

My current delema is that I would like to use my cells dataplan for my WiFi only tablet. I found one article walking through the steps on using Barnacle WiFi Tether to set this up, but as im sure you know, the phone needs to be Rooted...

So I was hoping for some advice on the pros and cons on Rooting my Rezound. Possibly pointing me to a good thread to walk through the steps on and maybe there is a better way to setup the Wi-Fi Tethering.