ThunderBolt Randomly Rebooting??!

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Roms' started by powerstrokeit73, Apr 18, 2011.

  1. powerstrokeit73

    powerstrokeit73 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes i have been running the Das BAMF 1.4 Rom for quite a while with the Droid 1.8 Kernal and have not had any issues at all. Then recently starting about a week ago, I am getting random reboots. For example, sometimes when Im on a call, my phone will reboot back to the HTC screen or If i try to load up my music and play something, sometimes it reboots. Anyone have any ideas or suggestions?? Any info will help
     
  2. hemorrdroid

    hemorrdroid Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you have the cpu clocked at? Might try bumping it down some, or even try a different kernel. If that doesnt do it for you, i would just try wiping data/cache and reloading DasBamf or try out another ROM.

    Weird that it did okay for a while, and just started rebooting.
     
  3. powerstrokeit73

    powerstrokeit73 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the Setcpu set at on demand. min-245 max-1800..which kernel do u recommend for this Rom im using?
     
  4. gatewayad

    gatewayad Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree with above set your max at whatever you can get close to 1.5 and see if that helps. Make sure and also do if for your profiles if you have any of them setup.
     
  5. BigMcGuire

    BigMcGuire Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Ratings:
    +2
  6. sk8

    sk8 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Omaha Nebraska
    Ratings:
    +0
    Drods kernels are solid , so are adrynlanes , the reboots you're experiencing is due to the overclocking speeds. IMO and most peoples around here is setting you oc that high is stupid.


    sent from a sweet paper weight.
     
  7. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
  8. SwaggerJacker

    SwaggerJacker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm running DB 1.3 and getting random reboots with included kernel. tried other roms with no reboots. Went back to DB and reboots are back. Clock speed didn't matter for me. I love this rom more than any other. I was going to try 1.4 but then read this. All phones are different and may not behave the same with the same software installed. Hopefully I can find a cure. This Dev is my fav.

    Duke
     
  9. Staveandor

    Staveandor Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    @Swagger,

    DB may not be the problem; it may be the kernel included. Like the other posters have said, try switching kernels. I'm not rooted (yet) on my TB, but my OG had problems using any of the Raidzero kernels, but ran beautifully with the P3 kernels.

    Try switching from DB to Adrynalyne's kernel, or another source, using DF, XDA, or Kernal Manager for a source... and try to find one clocked moderately, or with different governors. Smartass is supposed to run nicely on the TB.
     
  10. SwaggerJacker

    SwaggerJacker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm running 1.4 with no problems so far. Flashed it last nite.

    Sent from my ADR6400L
     
  11. mkjellgren

    mkjellgren Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    The reboots are definitely caused by the kernel. Honestly, 1.8ghz is WAY too high for most people to run on a daily basis. It might be the speed, it might be the voltage, but in one way or another your phone can't handle that combination under heavy load. Try a different kernel, adrynalynes are great and are offered in low and stock voltage versions if your phone can't handle low voltages at high clock speeds. Every phone is different so you just have to figure out what works best for you. And to the person being scared away from bamf due to reports of reboot, maybe try a current version rather than reverting to 1.3... 1.5 was released last night and is based off of the leaked ruu and radio update.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  12. SwaggerJacker

    SwaggerJacker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've never run my phone at 1.8. That's overkill for me. My phone is very Stable right now. I'll flash 1.5 in a few days. I'll read the change log and see what it offers.
    Thanks

    Sent from my ADR6400L
     
  13. SwaggerJacker

    SwaggerJacker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't see 1.5. Will check XDA

    Duke

    Sent from my ADR6400L
     
  14. BigMcGuire

    BigMcGuire Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Ratings:
    +2
  15. bisco3214

    bisco3214 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Apparently the random reboots are due to the new ruu. I'm running bamf 1.5 and have had quite a few reboots. By the way, I am only overclocked to 1.4.
     
Search tags for this page

my htc thunderbolt keeps rebooting

,
p8z77-v pro/thunderbolt keeps restarting
,
why does htc thunderbolt keep rebooting
,
why does my htc thunderbolt restart when i check email or fa