this ad is annoying

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by obxsalvo, Dec 14, 2014.

  1. obxsalvo

    obxsalvo Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Hatteras Is. NC
    Ratings:
    +231
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    It pops up and takes over this site's whole screen. I click on ad's to help support the site but this one is a pain!!
     

    Attached Files:

    #1 obxsalvo, Dec 14, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2014
  2. lilsidsri

    lilsidsri New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you have Adblock extension installed ?
     
  3. cereal killer

    cereal killer Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,397
    Likes Received:
    1,280
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,427
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    Looking into it @obxsalvo ! Thanks for the heads up!
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. obxsalvo

    obxsalvo Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Hatteras Is. NC
    Ratings:
    +231
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Not sure LOL I using my old HP HDX 18 notebook since I Broke my spectra 2+2 and sent it back to HP for repair. But thanks for the heads up I'll check
     
  5. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,469
    Likes Received:
    7,049
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,391
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    It's a recent addition. Didn't used to happen, but I'm noticing it coming up every time I launch the site for the first time as well.

    The worst is when it comes up kinda slow, so you get started browsing to where you were headed and then it takes over the whole screen right before you click a thread.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. danDroid

    danDroid Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611
    Likes Received:
    328
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Ratings:
    +343
    Sorry guys, I think it's just something that will run for the holidays.. Not something we have control of.

    The ad blocker will take care of it though :)
     
  7. danDroid

    danDroid Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611
    Likes Received:
    328
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Ratings:
    +343
    You should not see this ad anymore if you are logged into the site.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,469
    Likes Received:
    7,049
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,391
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    It didn't come up today when I launched Chrome and navigated to the site without being logged in and I don't run ad-blocker. Maybe I got lucky, but thanks for the heads up Dan!
     
  9. obxsalvo

    obxsalvo Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Hatteras Is. NC
    Ratings:
    +231
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    I have not had it pop up today also without using "Ad-blocker" . Thanks for all your help here.

    On a side bar: For some reason I can not down load ad-block onto IE 11. using W-7. Not sure why yet still working on it ( some, busy time of year ); as if you didn't know?!? )