Theming/clockwork error

Discussion in 'Sourcery ROM' started by tat2dwitetrash, Jan 3, 2011.

  1. tat2dwitetrash
    Offline

    tat2dwitetrash New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly burbs
    Is anyone having any issues theming with the wizardry?

    It has been hanging when it says "magic happening"...

    And when it does get past that stage clockwork says the update .zip is bad

    I did a restore to version 1.0 and tried it there and it was functioning

    I redownloaded 1.1 and the gapps again and installed again but I'm still having the issue.

    Any suggestions I could be missing something ...but what?

    Sent from my Sourcery using DroidForums App
  2. listenman20
    Online

    listenman20 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    GA
    i've switched themes atleast 4 times today without one glitch....i will admit tho i've been on wifi connection each time...only thing i can think of is you're getting a truncated file due to being on 3g....and you haven't said that you were on 3g...i'm just making assumptions
  3. dmacleo
    Offline

    dmacleo Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    I've done 2 on 3g with no issues.
    try clearing rom manager download cache.
  4. tat2dwitetrash
    Offline

    tat2dwitetrash New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly burbs
    Thanks guys!

    Ok so I switched to wifi and it went without a hitch

    But let me pick your brain a bit further

    Occasionally I get bad dl's through my browser and I go to preferences in Astro file manager and tell it to allow browser downloads ..and then I don't have a problem...

    Soooo when I switched back to 3G to check the wizard I did this same step before I ran a new theme through and it was fine

    My question(finally) is ..could that preference in astro, change whether or not sourcery wizard, could get a good dl of the theme?

    Sent from my Sourcery using DroidForums App
  5. listenman20
    Online

    listenman20 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    GA
    well i suppose there would have to be further testing but it sounds like it is that way atleast for you.
  6. TMYINC
    Offline

    TMYINC New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sometimes if they are fixing a file or a theme you will get a bad download. For example, I was switching themes in v1.0 and at the same time Gflam was editing that theme. So when I downloaded is was not a complete file since he was add/removing stuff. Not saying that this is the case for you but it's a thought.
  7. tat2dwitetrash
    Offline

    tat2dwitetrash New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly burbs
    Thanks for replying

    Sent from my Sourcery using DroidForums App
  8. Chizzele
    Offline

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Very Educational :)
  9. gflam
    Offline

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Jersey
    That is true that if I update an app say for instance when I update the market and I stick it in the zip the file will need a few seconds to update on the server and if u download during that small window of time that will happen however I haven't touched any of the themes for v1.1
    Sometimes when ur connection isn't great u will get this it seems I always have 3g and good signal strength and have not had a bad download yet so maybe ur signal wasn't good?

    Sent from my Sourcery using DroidForums App
  10. tat2dwitetrash
    Offline

    tat2dwitetrash New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly burbs
    Part of my problem was me being a bit impatient and not letting it do its thing. But its definitely faster on wifi

    Btw gflam, I'm loving the Magic!
    Keep up the excellent work

    Sent from my Sourcery using DroidForums App
Similar Threads
  1. BamaFan13
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    528
  2. puck3511
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    676
  3. Es0ter1c
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,026
  4. pshaw92
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    547
  5. dopeskwyd
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,115
Loading...
Search tags for this page

clockwork err