Swype Not Completing All Functions

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by bart2546, Dec 24, 2010.

  1. bart2546

    bart2546 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all,

    First let me say thanks to many of you. The knowledge you all share out on these boards us tremendous and you should be applauded for it.

    I have a Droid X and of course this came with Swype. I've been watching the videos on their website and trying to search but I cannot get one annoying thing to work and that is double tap to edit. When I double tap a word it will highlight it, but then I have no choice but to back space out and retype the word.

    Is there anyone else out there with the same problem or that has heard this and has found a solution? If it's just a bug issue and they're supposed to be working on it that's fine but I feel like I can do something to fix it.

    This is on an unrooted phone with the most recent OTA update. No other issues with the phone at all

    Thank you advance!

    Regards,
    Brandon
    Sent from my Verizon Droid X
     
  2. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    The joy of beta apps.....
    Have you hit up the developers website?
     
  3. bart2546

    bart2546 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not so far, I didn't want to join another forum yet and the one topic I found on it was just that someone didn't have it working in their beta downloaded version but that it supposedly worked on any version that came pre-installed.

    Regards,
    Brandon
    Sent from my Verizon Droid X
     
  4. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    If swype came pre-installed you are not suppose to install the beta.
     
  5. bart2546

    bart2546 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right, and I didn't but the function of the double tap to edit is not working in my pre-installed version. I figure it'll just be an issue they have to work out with an update at some point I guess.

    Regards,
    Brandon
    Sent from my Verizon Droid X
     
  6. PS3Gamer

    PS3Gamer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't double tap the word at all... Simply hit the "i" button on the bottom left of the keyboard to check for better words..

    If you notice it was a word in a previous sentence or few words back THEN you should double tap the word THEN press the "i" button again. Some words you will still need to type out, like "still". You can add that word by double tapping after you type it out and pressing that button again.

    Sent using my Xmas present (Droid X)
     
  7. bart2546

    bart2546 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, that's what I'll have to go with for now. Appreciate the help as always!

    Regards,
    Brandon
    Sent from my Verizon Droid X
     
  8. PS3Gamer

    PS3Gamer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Let me know about your confidence level after working with swype now..

    Sent using my Xmas present (Droid X)