Switching data over to new Droid?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Habs Forever, Jun 23, 2010.

  1. Habs Forever
    Offline

    Habs Forever New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hawthorne, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello...I just got a new Moto Droid sent to me from Verizon after my old one fell victim to a really aggravating virus, although it still is able to function somewhat well. How can I get my contacts over to the new one?

    What about the apps I paid for? Will I have to pay for them all again?

    Any other words of advice?

    Thank you very much.
     
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    First, I highly doubt you have a virus. That would have to be verified, please don't make claims like that, it only causes panic.

    All your contacts are saved in your Gmail. Remember, this is a google phone and it's all tied together. Gmail, Google, Contacts, Calendar...etc.

    So when you sign in to your new phone all your contacts should automatically transfer over once you sync your gmail account.
     
  3. dodgersrgood
    Offline

    dodgersrgood Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    your contacts are linked to your google account so when you sign in they should all sync up. but with your apps i dont know how that works going to a completely different phone. probably just have to re-download them all
     
  4. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    All your info is tied to your google account. Sign in on the new phone with your gmail account and your contacts will sync to the phone and your apps should show in the Market under downloads for you to re-download. Paid apps are already paid for (again..info tied to your google account) so you will not have to pay for them again.
     
  5. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    If it was a Virus, You should keep that Droid since it would be the First of it's kind...

    But Hook has covered everything else for ya there.
     
  6. Habs Forever
    Offline

    Habs Forever New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hawthorne, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I figured as much. I'm very computer savvy, not so much for phones, but when the guy at the Verizon Store (the Route 17 location in Paramus, NJ for those local) said I simply had a virus, I kind of got the feeling he was saying this out of sheer confusion, as I had never heard of anything like this.

    I'm charging the newest one now. I plan on trying to switch everything a little later.

    Should I switch the memory cards out?
     
  7. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I can't tell you how angry that makes me. Not at you but the rep.

    Can you guys imagine this, Verizon reps telling people they have viruses!
     
  8. Habs Forever
    Offline

    Habs Forever New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hawthorne, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same for me as well. I kind of got the feeling he didn't really know what he was saying. Usually a decent Verizon store, too...

    Can you root a completely updated Droid now? I remember previously when I wanted to root it, I had updated it already to a version unable to root.
     
Search tags for this page
how do i transfer my contacts from my old droid to my new dr
,
how to get contacts from old droid to new droid
,
how to i get me contacts on my old droid to my new one
,
how to switch over contacts on droids
,

how to transfer contacts from old droid to new droid

,
how to transfer my data to new droid
,
manually transfer contacts from old droid to new droid
,
move contacts from old droid to new droid
,
transfer old droid to new droid
,
transferring contacts from old droid to new droid