Stumped - Froyo Update

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by csantoro85, Sep 22, 2010.

  1. csantoro85
    Offline

    csantoro85 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I originally tried installing the update at work today, but it would always fail. I have come home, unrooted my phone, and restored the phone to factory settings, and that has failed as well. I really do not know what to do to be able to get the update to push through. Can anyone help me? I checked all my files before I did the Factory Reset and they were on there correctly.
  2. Mustang02
    Offline

    Mustang02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,106
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Did you install the 2.1 sbf? That's what I had to do.
  3. csantoro85
    Offline

    csantoro85 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not very savy on the technical side. I'm researching that, but can you advise me on what that exactly means and what I'd have to do?
  4. liferefugee
    Offline

    liferefugee New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like you need to flash your sbf file. Happened to me this morning.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  5. liferefugee
    Offline

    liferefugee New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check out the un brick thread for the how to.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  6. Mustang02
    Offline

    Mustang02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,106
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
  7. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Folks have it right, you need to flash to the 2.1 sbf file to receive the 2.2 OTA
  8. csantoro85
    Offline

    csantoro85 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Would anyone be willing to give me a step by step walkthrough over a Messenger Client like AIM?
  9. csantoro85
    Offline

    csantoro85 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do I even figure out which windows drivers I need? The 32 bit or 64 bit?
  10. csantoro85
    Offline

    csantoro85 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just executed everything and got the Error "Failed Flasing Process'. Can someone advise where to go from here?
  11. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    etermine the operating system bit count

    Locate the operating system that is running on your computer in this section, and then follow the steps to determine the bit count of your operating system. Windows Vista

    If you have Windows Vista, there are two methods to determine whether you are running a 32-bit or a 64-bit version. If one does not work, try the other.
    Method 1: View System window in Control Panel


    1. Click StartCollapse this imageExpand this image
      [​IMG]
      , type system in the Start Search box, and then click system in the Programs list.
    2. The operating system is displayed as follows:
      • For a 64-bit version operating system: 64-bit Operating System appears for the System type under System.
      • For a 32-bit version operating system: 32-bit Operating System appears for the System type under System.
    Method 2: View System Information window


    1. Click StartCollapse this imageExpand this image
      [​IMG]
      , type system in the Start Search box, and then click System Information in the Programs list.
    2. When System Summary is selected in the navigation pane, the operating system is displayed as follows:
      • For a 64-bit version operating system: x64-based PC appears for the System type under Item.
      • For a 32-bit version operating system: x86-based PC appears for the System type under Item.
    If you cannot determine the operating system bit count with these methods, go to the "Next Steps" section.Windows XP

    If you have Windows XP, there are two methods to determine whether you are running a 32-bit or a 64-bit version. If one does not work, try the other.
    Method 1: View System Properties in Control Panel


    1. Click Start, and then click Run.
    2. Type sysdm.cpl, and then click OK.
    3. Click the General tab. The operating system is displayed as follows:
      • For a 64-bit version operating system: Windows XP Professional x64 Edition Version < Year> appears under System.
      • For a 32-bit version operating system: Windows XP Professional Version <Year> appears under System.
      Note <Year> is a placeholder for a year.
    Method 2: View System Information window


    1. Click Start, and then click Run.
    2. Type winmsd.exe, and then click OK.
    3. When System Summary is selected in the navigation pane, locate Processor under Item in the details pane. Note the value.
      • If the value that corresponds to Processor starts with x86, the computer is running a 32-bit version of Windows.
      • If the value that corresponds to Processor starts with ia64 or AMD64, the computer is running a 64-bit version of Windows.
  12. csantoro85
    Offline

    csantoro85 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Martin, I figured that part out. I attempted flashing the phone and it keeps saying Fail. I really don't know what to do at all from here.
  13. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried booting your phone back up at all?
  14. rcjames
    Offline

    rcjames New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What i can do is help you by remote access.
  15. csantoro85
    Offline

    csantoro85 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On my first attempt I did not have it correctly loaded into BootLoader Mode. I am correctly in it now and am attempting it.
  16. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ahhh...

    well keep us posted how it turns out.
  17. csantoro85
    Offline

    csantoro85 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is it normal to have to re-program your phone (*228) after a Flash?
  18. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes, after the .sbf flash you need to reprogram.
  19. csantoro85
    Offline

    csantoro85 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I'm doing that now. Hopefully I can apply the update after all of this
  20. csantoro85
    Offline

    csantoro85 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Out of curiosity, what's the difference between Flashing your phone and just doing a Factory Reset?