Stuck @ Droid/Eye Logo

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Malyshus, May 24, 2010.

  1. Malyshus
    Offline

    Malyshus New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have rooted my droid which was a lot easier than I though it would be, created my Nandroid backup before anything else was done.

    Now when I downloaded the BBv1.0 ROM and renamed it to update.zip and went to install it, everything appears to install correctly but then when I reboot the device I get stuck at the Red Eye/Droid bootup image.

    I did try to find a post on this and check your troubleshooting guide but I have been unable to find anything. Been fighting with it for longer than I care to admit.

    Any advice?
  2. bomber889
    Offline

    bomber889 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Restore to your nandroid backup.
  3. Malyshus
    Offline

    Malyshus New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a couple of times, I can't seem to find a way to get the Bugless Beast ROM on my device successfully though.
  4. bomber889
    Offline

    bomber889 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Did you wipe everything before installing BB?
  5. Malyshus
    Offline

    Malyshus New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Of that I am uncertain to be perfectly honest.

    Here's what I followed, worked fine until the final reboot.
  6. bomber889
    Offline

    bomber889 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
  7. Malyshus
    Offline

    Malyshus New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay, that is actually the ROM I used for this, but you think that the data/cache would have a significant impact on it?
  8. bomber889
    Offline

    bomber889 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Yes, it has a major impact. You MUST wipe when switching roms or many bad things could happen.
  9. Malyshus
    Offline

    Malyshus New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Minor tid-bits like this would matter so much... hahaha
    So when you say data & cache you mean to use the thing that says 'Yes -- Delete all user data' right?
  10. bomber889
    Offline

    bomber889 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Yeah, wipe data/factory reset and wipe cache partition. After you do that go to install, allow update.zip, and install it. Then you should be good to go! Oh, if you want all your app data to be saved, download titanium backup from the market and backup all your apps before you install it, unless you don't mind.
  11. Malyshus
    Offline

    Malyshus New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    At this point I just want the thing to boot on a custom ROM. I can re-download all the apps that won't bother me all that much. Good to know though and thanks for the info and assistance.

    Performed as you said and the phone booted right up. You're a rockstar man.
  12. bomber889
    Offline

    bomber889 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    No problem. If you have any more questions, feel free to ask.
Search tags for this page

motorola stuck at droid red eye logo

,

why is there a eye image on htc incredible stuck