Stuck at Booting Screen

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by xthek1ng, Dec 5, 2011.

  1. xthek1ng

    xthek1ng Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used the D3 bootstrap to nandroid backup, then I tried to install Liberty ROM from my internal SD card and it goes passed the red M, but doesn't go passed the Liberty ROM boot screen, anyhelp? Any way I can fix this? The ROM was successfully installed in the Recovery Mode.
     
  2. Shimmy549

    Shimmy549 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The first time I booted up with CM7, I was stuck at its Skateboarding Android logo for a long time. I thought I screwed up, but I let it play out and it eventually came to pass.

    The phone may have simply froze. A battery pull shouldn't hurt if everything really installed successfully.

    Pull the battery and try booting again. I've yet to try any ROMs on the D3, so I'm only familiar with saving .zip files on the ext-sd card. I don't know if that makes any difference, but I doubt it.

    I'll keep checking in to see what happens.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  3. xthek1ng

    xthek1ng Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's sat for over an hour, no dice.
     
  4. Shimmy549

    Shimmy549 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you try a battery pull and/or restore of the backup you made? Also, did you clear all caches before attempting to flash the ROM?

    I'd restore my back up and try reflashing from there. Don't know if you tried that yet.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  5. xthek1ng

    xthek1ng Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Isis a battery pull and it didn't solve anything. I can't get the phone on. I didn't woe data or anythin prior to flaĊĦing theROM.

    Is there anyway from the red moto screen to boot into recovery mode so that I could try to restore my backup?
     
  6. Shimmy549

    Shimmy549 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe it's power button+x key to boot into recovery while the phone is off.

    You should wipe caches and do a reset from the recovery menu before flashing a new ROM. You want to flash a ROM onto a "clean" phone.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  7. Shimmy549

    Shimmy549 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    But never wipe or reset anything without first creating a backup. You probably know that, but I'll throw it out there because it's important.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  8. xthek1ng

    xthek1ng Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Powe+x takes me too a screen with a warning triangle with an ! In it and the android and just sits there, so I'm gonna assume I can't get into recovery...
     
  9. Shimmy549

    Shimmy549 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try power button+M key.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  10. xthek1ng

    xthek1ng Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay that workEd what should I use? The recovery option?
     
  11. Shimmy549

    Shimmy549 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    BP Tools should be an option. Go into that and try wiping your caches, at least (including dalvik in Advanced), and then go into the Backup option and choose your most recent one.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  12. Shimmy549

    Shimmy549 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If Bootstrap was working properly, this should be a painless process.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  13. xthek1ng

    xthek1ng Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My options are normal power up, recovery, ap fastboot, BP SBF flash, BP Only, BP HW DIAG & boot ap and BP
    Tools
     
  14. xthek1ng

    xthek1ng Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    BP tools only makes it try to boot aka makes it never boot up
     
  15. Shimmy549

    Shimmy549 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Really? BP Tools should take you to CM Recovery. That makes me wonder if Bootstrap was functioning properly.

    I've only ever used BP Tools. I never had to use anything else in that menu. Recovery seems like your best bet, but I'm not speaking from experience.

    Whether you try Recovery or not, you may be facing a situation where you have to SBF, anyway. Recovery sounds like the logical choice, but it's your call.



    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
android bp tools
,
android frozen on boot screen
,
android phone stuck on boot screen
,

android stuck on boot screen

,
bp only android
,

bp tools android

,
droid 3 bp tools
,
droid 4 bp tools
,
droid bionic stuck on boot screen
,
what is bp tools android