SSID and other WiFi issues with my DInc

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible Tech Support' started by Bearcats, Jan 5, 2011.

  1. Bearcats
    Offline

    Bearcats New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey, just got my DINC yesterday and noticed two issues that I am hoping are just operator errors. 8)

    [1]
    I dont broadcast my SSID on my home network as a layer of security. I have noticed that if I dont, the DINC will not see it nor try to connect to it. Is there a way to connect to non-broadcasting SSID WiFi's with the DINC because I would like to stop broadcasting my SSID? Usually there is a "Connect anyway" type function when configuring a connection.

    [2]
    At work we have four routers broadcasting their SSID and are OPEN networks. My laptop picks them up however my DINC does not. I do have look for open networks enabled and the WiFi is operating as I dont make any changes to the phone and it picks up my home and lunch WiFi's without a hitch. I have also hand typed the SSID into network configuration and it still cant find these open networks. My two friends iPhones (one 3 and one 4) pick them up also.... :(

    Thanks!
  2. enlightened
    Offline

    enlightened DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Are you rooted using wireless tether or using Verizon's paid wifi hotspot service?
  3. Bearcats
    Offline

    Bearcats New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Phone is not rooted, yet. Might take me a few more days to have enough time to sit down and carefully go through the instructions.

    I am not tethering or paying for a Verizon service. Just trying to use my existing router and hooking into generic routers at work.
  4. enlightened
    Offline

    enlightened DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Totally misunderstood your question- my bad. So you basically just need help troubleshooting wifi in general (with hidden and open networks)?
  5. Bearcats
    Offline

    Bearcats New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hidden for sure.

    Open, seem to.

    Reason I say that is I can connect to a restaurant WiFi and my home Wifi but not the work ones (that are open) and hidden ones.
  6. enlightened
    Offline

    enlightened DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Okay, in case you haven't already done this, hidden networks need to be unhidden, credentials entered, and set to connect when in range.

    I've heard of some port issues that prevent connecting to certain networks but off the top of my head don't recall which ones needed to be opened. Do you know what type of router each network is using? Might help troubleshoot if they're all the same brand.
  7. Bearcats
    Offline

    Bearcats New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have executed as you described in your first paragraph to get the initial connection going. But when I hide it (disable SSID broadcast) then I no longer can see it.

    I am unsure of the brand of routers at work. I will go rooting around tomorrow to see if I can find out.

    Thanks for the help so far.
Search tags for this page
how do i find my ssid number on my net10 phone
,
how to find my ssid number on android
,

phone ssid

,

ssid number on my phone

,
ssid of hand phone
,
what is my ssid number on my phone
,
what is ssid on my android
,
whats my ssid number on my android
,
where is my ssid number on my galaxy phone
,
where is my ssid on my phone