Speech to Text problem

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by dfink114, Feb 17, 2011.

  1. dfink114

    dfink114 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I love liberty, but I'm missing one essential thing.....speech to text. Now I've installed google voice and can say contacts, but I really need this for feature for texting and google maps. For texts, when I hit the microphone, nothing happens. For maps, there isn't even a "Say destination" option anymore.

    Any advice?
     
  2. trebb

    trebb Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Download "voice search" from the market.
     
  3. dfink114

    dfink114 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nevermind. Thanks so much!
     
  4. MACJAX

    MACJAX New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having trouble with my voice recognition for text. I say: "send text to..name"
    It then puts the name in the body of the text message not; To

    What am I doing wrong?
     
  5. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    You know that's something I never use and I just tried it on my D2. It worked perfectly for me. I don't know what to tell you, I take it that it never works? Outside of a factory data reset and then try it I don't know what else you could do.
     
  6. MACJAX

    MACJAX New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you say to send text?

    Do you just say send text to..?
     
  7. peacefulwarrior

    peacefulwarrior New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This seems to be a problem with the HTC Thunderbolt

    Hi,

    I just purchased an HTC Thunderbolt and noticed that this feature does not work with this phone. I successfully used the same capability "send to (name) with text" to other Android phones and everything worked fine.

    The problem is as described in the original note on the Thunderbolt it does not capture the username as a separate field for some reason and instead captures the name in the text of the SMS message... Very odd but also frustrating as this was is a feature that I would use frequently!
     
  8. alorry

    alorry New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Voice Commands

    I am having the same issue on my Tbolt. Voice actions simply will not recognize a contact name in the "To" field for texting or emails, nor for voice dialing either. Has anyone figured something out?
     
  9. Ponyman2

    Ponyman2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure you have Contacts in your Gmail Account. When you say "Send text to:" it looks in your Contacts for that name so make sure you say the name exactly like you have it in your Gmail contacts. I use it everyday. If you want to send the same message to more than 1 person just add the word "and". Example "Bill and Jane" it will put those two in the TO: field. keep talking and the rest will go into the body
     
  10. rockula

    rockula Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kokomo, IN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wasn't using the app properly. On my Tbolt, you have to HOLD the search button, then say something like "Send text to: First, last name" as logged in your address book, and it works at bringing up the prompt to do so. I haven't gotten much deeper than that with it.

    Dictating Txt Messages is a chore because it stops after every sentence or so and isn't truly "hands free". It also capitalizes the first word after very "stop". You can say "period" at the end of sentence though, and one will be there. But I have a feeling that if I wanted a better dictation program, I'm gonn have to pay for it.

    I would also love to have my text and email messages read to me, but can't figure that out either.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2011
Search tags for this page
android gingerbread text to speech problems
,

android speech to text not working

,
gingerbread voice text not connecting
,
google maps speech-to-text problem
,
speech to text for gingerbread
,
speech to text gingerbread
,
speech to text not working on android
,
text to speech not working on android
,
voice to text not working on android
,
voice to text not working on android double posting