Something wrong with my S5 ?

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S5 Discussions' started by loco, Oct 23, 2014.

  1. loco

    loco Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hello all, been a while since posting. I recently upgraded my phone to a Galaxy S5 on Verizon. Since I brought the phone home on Sunday I have totally loved it. Seems to be amazingly fast and I'm very impressed with the camera.

    However, I have noticed that the phone heats up pretty quickly. It seems like after surfing the web for a few minutes or scrolling thru Facebook the back of the phone gets pretty darn warm. Also I get this intermittent lag. I'll go to unlock the phone and it will literally take up to 5 seconds before it opens. I notice this on the keyboard as well. I'll start typing and the letters will pop up like I have hit the correct key, but they will stay popped up, almost like its stuck on a letter.

    I took the phone to Verizon and the salesman looked it over and said he couldn't find a problem. He asked me to do a factory reset and give it a few days. I did the factory reset and all was perfect for about a day. Now, a day later, its starting again. The lagging is very intermittent.

    Am I missing something ? Could an app be causing this ? I have all location services and sync services turned off except Facebook and Facebook messenger. I'm leaning towards taking it back for a replacement while I'm within my 14 day return period.
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    When you did the factory reset I assume you allowed all the apps to install again. I suspect one or more of those apps are gumming up the works. Check out gSam Battery Monitor to see if you can determine what is sucking it down. How much battery time are you getting?

    It is also possible that something is trying to sync and having a hard time. Or is syncing more often that may be needed.
     
  3. loco

    loco Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    The battery drain was very dramatic. I literally watched it go from 100% to 45% in about 2 hours. This was before the factory reset. Today, I unplugged it from the charger at 6:30am and its now 12:25pm and I have 60%.

    The salesman at Verizon suggested I remove an app called Meme Generator. I did this based on him telling me it was the problem. He said he was looking at the developer options to determine that this app was the culprit. So basically, I did the factory reset, removed the Meme Generator app and it look like the problem still persists, but fortunately not on the same scale or frequency.

    I really love the phone. Its the perfect size for my old eyes and it does everything I need and then some. I would really hate to switch again.
     
  4. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    I'm still wondering what may be trying to sync and is failing, but trying over and over again.
     
  5. loco

    loco Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    You could very well be right. I'm finding that this happens mostly at work. My office is in the basement, and I have no cellular signal, but do have fair Wi-Fi signal. Would it be safe to assume that whatever is trying to sync is having issues syncing over the wi-fi ? Will the gSam Battery Monitor give me a clue ?
     
  6. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    Absolutely. It's also possible that the router configuration is causing the phone to struggle in general. If it's not happening the same at home I think you have hit on the problem.
     
  7. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    I agree with leeshor. Many problems with Wi-Fi are not the phone but the router. Often these problem are quickly resolved with either a firmware update for the router or in some cases a new router. Older firmware may have minor bugs that earlier devices were somewhat tolerant of, but newer devices may have been designed to no longer accept these tiny coding flaws and instead can wind up getting confused by communication errors due to flawed protocols. By updating your router's firmware (see the router's company website for firmware updates), you make the router more compatible with the newer devices and in some cases even to the point of being able to take advantage of faster protocols that weren't yet developed when the router was first manufactured.
     
  8. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,356
    Likes Received:
    5,878
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,708
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    I posted this on our S5 sister forum recently and thought it might be worth mentioning here.

    Hope this helps.

    S5 tap'n
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    I unchecked that option on mine thanks to you. However if you'll look at my chart you'll see the greatest consumption of power (the steepest downhill), was when the phone was 'awake'.

    [​IMG]

    Since the phone was off and I'm my pocket during a part of that time (the second half of the chart between the two middle vertical gridlines and as indicated by the screen being off),

    [​IMG]

    ...I have to find out what is keeping the phone awake.

    If you look at your chart you'll see that the 'awake' period is also the greatest consumption period of the entire chart and like mine it's the second half.

    [​IMG]

    So WiFi isn't what is eating up the power, it's awake time.
     
    #9 FoxKat, Oct 23, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2014
    • Like Like x 1
  10. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,356
    Likes Received:
    5,878
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,708
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    Good point.
     
  11. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    In fact, by the look of it, the first 7.39 hours or so, even with WIFI on, you only used almost exactly 10%. The second 7.39 hours is when you used another 62.5%, leaving you at about 27.5% after.


    3fIBvRF (edited).png
     
    #11 FoxKat, Oct 23, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2014
  12. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,356
    Likes Received:
    5,878
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,708
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    That was my original point, my WiFi was never on this whole time. That reading was from that box being checked and it constantly scanning. After unchecking that box, WiFi doesn't even show up for me because I rarely ever turn it on.

    S5 tap'n