Soft Reset problem

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by wricks, May 12, 2010.

  1. wricks
    Offline

    wricks Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Burlington, NC
    Did a search and didn't come up with much so I'm here, noob that I am.

    Backstory...
    I've had my Droid about three weeks and decided to do a little upgrading. Did a lot of reading and studying and on Sunday rooted using the "Root 2.1 buy using SPRecovery" on this forum. All went well and I had root! For additional resources I DL'd ROM Manager (both), played a little with Clockwork Recovery, checked out some of the available ROMs and really haven't done much else (gotta work you every now and then). Was thinking about going with Buggless Beast later this week, but....

    Today.....
    Going through my phone from the home screen I hit menu, settings, then Accounts & sync.....
    This is where the soft reset comes in. As soon as I choose account & sync it hangs for a moment, then resets. Motorola logo, Droid, droid eye then home screen just like doing a reset from SPRecovery or Clockwork. Everything else "seems" to be working as it should. Not sure where to begin any diagnostics so any help would be appreciated.
  2. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    I don't know if I can help, but what recovery do you have on your phone now? Have you done any nandroid backups?

    Also, it may be hardware related as some of the early Droids did this and were happily replaced by VZW.
  3. wricks
    Offline

    wricks Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Burlington, NC
    Thanks for the quick reply.

    Yes, I did a backup with SPRecovery before and after I rooted. But since I did the backups, I installed Clockwork and (even after using the alternative flash - SPRecovery) every time I boot to recovery, it's clockwork with no nandroid backups.
  4. wricks
    Offline

    wricks Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Burlington, NC
  5. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    So you were able to get past the soft reset?

    Rom Manager do allow you to use SPRecovery instead of ClockWork. open RM, scroll down and tap Flash Alternative Recovery. One caution --- ClockWork will only replace a backup made with ClockWork and SPRecovery will only restore a backup made with SPR. So, if you go with SPR make sure you use SPR to make your backup.


    Hope this helps.

    Mike
  6. wricks
    Offline

    wricks Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Burlington, NC
    Yeah, I know that - NOW! LOL Since I didn't have a lot on phone @ the time, I just did a complete wipe and started from scratch (stock). Think of it as a chance to practice some old skills and learn some new ones.

    But yes, I no longer have the soft reset issue. As I said, I believe it was because CW had not been configured completely/correctly. Self induced issues.
    Last edited: May 13, 2010
  7. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Sorry you had problems but glad they were resolved.
  8. wricks
    Offline

    wricks Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Burlington, NC
    It's all a learning process.
Search tags for this page
android model a855 soft reset
,
android soft reset
,

droid a855 soft reset

,
droid razr soft reset not working
,
how often should i do a soft reset on razr maxx
,
how to soft reset a855
,

motorola a855 soft reset

,
motorola droid a855 soft reset
,
soft reset droid a 855
,

soft reset droid a855

,
soft reset of a855
,
soft reset on motorola droid a855