signal issue

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR M' started by wvdroidman, Nov 23, 2012.

  1. wvdroidman

    wvdroidman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    How can I improve my signal? Is there a radio update I can download or flash or a way to force lte?
     
  2. Spey

    Spey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Sounds like you are only looking for reported numeric Data Signal improvement ...? Are you looking to improve wireless voice (like for phone calls - 1x) or to improve the data connection (3G / 4G). There are different antennas in the phone, and various ways to turn on/off 3G vs. 4G (like maybe someone wants to turn off 4G, using only 3G for Data and 1x for voice to conserve battery because 4G uses a lot of power and also runs in background when screen is off). If the issue is related to 4G dropping/switching to 3G (because device reported dbm reading), there a a couple different answers based on circumstances you may be experiencing (example: software change could reduce the threshold at which the OS determines 4G dbm reading is not good enough and auto switches to 3G).

    Also, there is a device setting (preferred network mode) related to network connection (Global, LTE/CDMA, GSM/UMTS) that could also yield improvement based on your specific circumstances. Two Razr M's I have were both factory-default-set to Global (not best option for my circumstances).

    Sorry if this reply is too basic, and/or not direct reply to your question asking for a "radio update". I have not seen any "radio updates" since the recent OS upgrade from ICS to Jelly Bean.
     
  3. wvdroidman

    wvdroidman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I am looking for getting 4g data. I switched it from global to cdma/lte and no improvement. Actually a few times I've went to 1x and had to turn on airplane mode then turn airplane mode off to get 3g back. Also sometimes that works for 4g for like 15 minutes they it goes back to 3g.
     
  4. wvdroidman

    wvdroidman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have noticed then when i put it on wifi it tends to pickup the 4g signal. Why would it do that?
     
  5. Spey

    Spey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Not sure about that (my device WiFi overrides the data connection - data signal is still indicated, but not used when connected to WiFi).

    Couple troubleshooting questions:
    1) Is the switching from 4G to 3G in an area of known strong 4G coverage?
    Keep in mind that it appears the Razr-M reports weaker signal strength than other Razr models (most likely due to the internal antenna configuration being different). So don't just assume that because a Razr Maxx, or your earlier Thunderbolt had good 4G in the same location that you should expect the same today from a different device ...

    2) When your Razr-M switches from 4G to 3G do you keep your data connection, or does it get lost?
    Razr-M should be able to keep a data connection and switch between 4G & 3G.

    3) At what signal level (dbm) does your 4G switch to 3G?
    This might help to determine if there is a hardware related problem or if it's possibly software related (my earlier post, 1st paragraph, last sentence).
    Also, keep in mind (my experience) how you hold the phone (where your hand is related to the antenna, and/or if the phone antenna is unobstructed) effects reported signal strength. I do not mean to use the phones reported dbm reading as a means to compare one phone against another, but if there is a consistency related to the reported dbm reading when your phone switches from 4G to 3G then there may be some valid troubleshooting that could point towards why it's happening.
     
    #5 Spey, Nov 25, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2012
  6. wvdroidman

    wvdroidman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    1: mediocre 4g area.
    2: keeps commectiom
    3: just went from 115 dbm 4g to 70 dbm 3g just now. It is sitting on my computer desk. Doesn't matter where I hold it when I do. I vary between 73 and 90 dbm on 3g.

    There are some areas I got 3g and sometimes 4g that I now get 1x on the razr m. Only visit there 3 or 4 times a year so can't check now.
     
  7. wvdroidman

    wvdroidman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I also did notice that when I entered a strong 4g area the razr m took 5 minutes longer than my fiance's pantec breakout to go from 3g to 4g.
     
  8. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16,799
    Likes Received:
    3,645
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,110
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    You may consider getting a new sim card.. they're free..

    But also, I've noticed a flux in service in my area.. where I had 4g, now I have 3g.. and I even lose 3g at times.. perhaps vzw is tweaking their network.?
     
  9. wvdroidman

    wvdroidman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I just bought the phone wednesday at best buy for free. If it is not the sim card (I live far away from a corporate store and the local premium retailercharges $10 for a new sim) then what can I do to fix the problem? Is this a known issue that will be fixed?
     
  10. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    I'm afraid it's a "known" issue. The phone simply doesn't hang onto 4G as well as others. It doesn't drop data, but switches to 3G too easily. JB seemed to help somewhat, but it still would drop to 3G when most other devices wouldn't. I've seen enough threads about it here, Moto Support Forums, and elsewhere (including info on attenuation issues) that makes me think it's inherent in the device - either the software or hardware (or combo). I've also had 3 different ones myself - pre and post Jelly Bean - with similar issues. I live in a very strong 4G area as well.
     
  11. wvdroidman

    wvdroidman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    will it be fixed somehow? Knowing that it is a known issue is motorola planning to address the issue?
     
  12. Spey

    Spey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Replies to earlier questions I asked:
    wvdroidman,
    Some of the comments included getting a new SIM card (I do not understand how this could help ...?) - would be interested myself to hear why this could be ...? Phone user should be able to update their PRL manually (precluding this as a reason to install a new SIM Card ...?).
    Verizon will mail you a free SIM Card with a simple phone call to tech-support. I have gotten free-SIM Cards from both corp. stores (standard policy), and also non-corp. stores (all about how you present yourself and your situation).

    "1: mediocre 4g area.
    2: keeps commectiom"

    I would think that in a "mediocre 4G area" that you should be happy the Razr-M is seamlessly switching to 3G and holding your data signal. Sounds like things are working as they should be ...

    "3: just went from 115 dbm 4g to 70 dbm 3g just now. It is sitting on my computer desk. Doesn't matter where I hold it when I do. I vary between 73 and 90 dbm on 3g."
    Those numbers are negative numbers (-115dbm), so -115dbm is a weaker signal than -70dbm (just to make sure we are on the same page).
    -70dbm is a relatively good signal, -115dbm is a pretty weak signal.
    It sounds like from what you stated, you phones software threshold is set at around -115dbm cutoff for weak signal to switching to 3G (4G disconnect-threshold in dbm). A software revision (registry edit to the OS) is how this switching-threshold could be reset (per my earlier references).

    "There are some areas I got 3g and sometimes 4g that I now get 1x on the razr m. Only visit there 3 or 4 times a year so can't check now."
    I could be mistaken in the following comments (someone feel free to correct at any time):
    I believe you are mixing Data and Voice Signals in your comment above (3G & 4G being Data, 1x being Voice).
    I believe Verizon 1x = (single-carrier) Radio Transmission Technology (Voice Signal NOT Data).
    If you get any Data Support without a 3G of 4G Signal, I would assume this would be happening via EVDO on the Razr-M.

    "I also did notice that when I entered a strong 4g area the razr m took 5 minutes longer than my fiance's pantec breakout to go from 3g to 4g."
    I believe this would also be related to the same "software-switching-threshold" previously mentioned.
    It would help to know the reported signal strength of the 4G connection when it reconnects from 3G (this would illustrate the 4G connect threshold in dbm).
    You would then have the benchmarks to determine how the phone and software are performing (4G Connect & Disconnect Threshold).

    Two additional questions:
    What OS are you running ICS or JB (factory stock, OTA push, etc.)?
    What PRL (Preferred Roaming List - cel-tower frequencies updates) are you running (Settings/About Phone/Status)? (Should be 5-digit # begin with 1xxxx or 5xxxxx)
    If you get "stuck" in 3G again in an area of known strong 4G coverage compare your PRL# at that time to previous checks to see if device has poss. reset to a new number (I think 5x #'s are 3G only).
     
    #12 Spey, Nov 26, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2012
Search tags for this page
a fix for signal issue on razr m
,

droid dna losing signal

,
droid razr m signal fix
,

droid razr m signal issue

,
droid razr m weak signal
,
fix signal strength razr m
,
razr m signal fix
,
razr m signal strength
,

razr m signal strength fix

,
razr m weak signal