SD Card?

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Tech Support' started by AceDROID, Feb 11, 2012.

  1. AceDROID
    Offline

    AceDROID New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Okay, so I know the phone just came out yesterday, and we already have root (yes I jumped on), but can someone PLEASE explain to me why this is happening?

    So, I use Mini Info widget on my homescreen. It shows, as the internal memory (middle icon) the 3 gigs of memory allocated strictly for apps..
    In the third spot (The one that shows an sd card) It ONLY shows the 8 gigs that it gives you for whatever, not the actual SD card that's inserted.

    For the record, I took my 32 gig sd card out of my Thunderbolt and put it in the Droid 4. Now, if I go into say, AndExplorer, I can access the card under sdcard-ext, and "sdcard" brings me to the 8 gigs of internal memory.. Now here's where it gets REALLY annoying..

    I'm in my camera. I go to chose where I want my pictures and videos to be saved. It gives me Internal or SD Card.. but the SD card ISN'T THE SD CARD! IT'S THE INTERNAL MEMORY!!!

    Does ANYBODY have a clue as to what is going on? I really don't think a format is needed, as if I go into my gallery all my pictures and stuff show up (obviously not in any kind of folder like they were in on my Thunderbolt, but whatever) But the point is I can still read and access everything there, and even save by copying/pasting stuff, but the phone can't save/show stats of the sd card that I have installed in apps like the camera? Is this just a serious flaw? Or is there some sort of menu option I'm missing? This is such an annoyance. I know I can't be the only one dealing with this issue..
  2. aqworldthunder
    Offline

    aqworldthunder Darth Droid

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go to market and get Auto mount your sd, its simple download and plug usb to computer and click "Help".

    -AqworldThunder ;) ^…^ ¶.¶ *.* Thank me if i helped please!
  3. AceDROID
    Offline

    AceDROID New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    I'm not sure I understand.. why download auto mount? If the sd card is being read, than doesn't that mean that it's already mounted?

    Just tried it and that didn't solve the issue... -_-

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2012
  4. aqworldthunder
    Offline

    aqworldthunder Darth Droid

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So if its mounted then get a file management app.

    -AqworldThunder ;) ^…^ ¶.¶ *.* Thank me if i helped please!
  5. aqworldthunder
    Offline

    aqworldthunder Darth Droid

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,309
    Likes Received:
    532
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Thanks for your advice aqworld. But they don't need auto mount & they have a file explorer. What they need is someone with a D4 to help them understand how it's memory works. Please be careful how you give advice :)

    Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2012
  7. rjeatkrconley
    Offline

    rjeatkrconley New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I have the RAZR, but similar OS.
    In the camera. If you have SD Card selected, the pics should be on the SD card. Using My Files app, I found thumbnails in the internal storage but the actual pics are located on the SD card in the dcim folder.
    As for the widget, you are correct in that it does only show the internal memory as the SD card. There is no option for the actual SD card. This would be a software issue with the widget it self. I am not sure if there are any other phones that break up the storage the way ours does.
    The only way I know to see the actual SD card storage capacity, is using the storage file in settings. It will show 3 different storage locations.
    One more thing, since you are rooted, make sure that any files you need for flashing are located/moved to sd-ext. This is the actual removable SD card. sd-int, or something similar, is the internal memory. Hope this helped.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  8. AceDROID
    Offline

    AceDROID New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Yeah, I know they would need to be on sd-ext. Its really a pain. I'm not new to this whole thing at all I just thought it was kind of weird the way this does that.

    Oh, and I just checked the dcim folder in sdcard-ext.. no pictures. I took a few and they aren't showing up. They are in the phone's internal memory.
    -_-

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2012
  9. kasouti
    Offline

    kasouti New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine is autodumping pictures to the sdcard-ext for me. The only thing I can think of is that I initially told my system to auto transfer using the manage internal storage option in storage when I first inserted the card. It's possible that unlocks a script or some such. Other than that I've done nothing special and mine is saving to either the real sd card or internal depending on my option chosen within the camera app.
  10. Bigfoot77
    Offline

    Bigfoot77 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Mine is saving to the external card automatically, without ever selecting any options. I didn't try the camera out until after I had the card (16GB) installed. Might try using a different SD card and see if you get the same results, I've had devices act a little funky with specific SD cards, especially higher capacity ones (probably not the case here, but who knows).
  11. orangechoochoo
    Offline

    orangechoochoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a caboose
    There's an option in the camera to save internally or on the SD card. After I mounted the card I took a photo and it created a DCIM/camera folder. From there I transfered all my photos and videos there from my computer.
  12. ashobe
    Offline

    ashobe New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    sd card

    On my Droid 4. under file manager I have listed internal phone storage and the SD card. SD Card shows several folders including dcim which has all the camera photos. I dont like to root but do want to see all the available files that I can so I use OI File Manager App... it lets you distinguish what you are actually looking at want is 'mnt' (mounted). Both the sdcard and sdcard-ext folders under the root have a dcim folder but the 'internal SD is it all CAPS (DCIM) and the SD-ext is in lower case (dcim)

    Don't know if this helps but i moved my sd card from my Droid3 and did not make any changes to the settings for the camera and they are save on the SD Card-ext so I can pull them off of the device directly onto my computer
    :blink:
  13. AceDROID
    Offline

    AceDROID New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Yeah I pulled my 32gb from my thunderbolt.. so I figure I guess I have to reformat it, either because going from HTC to Motorola the card is just like jsrvkxwhcjrsyefwWTFBBQSAUCE -_- ... I'll have to transfer stuff over to my laptop, reformat it, and go from there.... though I don't know how I'll do that because under storage settings, reformat card is actually grayed out. Soooo that puts an even more confusing look on my face..


    [​IMG]
    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
  14. Kack
    Offline

    Kack New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Riverside, CA SO-CAL
    if you go to settings in the camera and set it to sd card it creates a folder on you sdcard-ext > dcim >camera. just a different name folder but it is on the sd card. the folder on my thunderbolt was 100media but it also was under the dcim folder. shouldnt be much harder than that.
  15. kasouti
    Offline

    kasouti New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You generally have to unmount sd to format it.
  16. AceDROID
    Offline

    AceDROID New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    I did all of that, and went through the whole format route. Hopefully it works.. we'll see.

    So for the learning experience, everyone format the card, just back up your stuff to a computer first haha.

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk
  17. zertsman
    Offline

    zertsman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My pics are in the dcim folder. I just stuffed in the card from my driod x.

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
  18. rhighfil
    Offline

    rhighfil New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't even have an SD card yet, and this was giving me problems. The internal folder that I'm assuming it will mount to, unmounted and I lost a couple of my apps and wallpaper.. and when I tried installing stuff, it said it had a problem parsing package. crazy.. for now it seems to be working.. I tried the automount program, but it says it doesn't work on later android versions.. so I don't know if that fixed it, or if unplugging the phone from the computer fixed it, but for now it's working. Can anyone shed any light on the situation? I'm new to these google-tracking-devices, but not really new to linux- just a lil' rusty. :D
  19. rhighfil
    Offline

    rhighfil New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Make that half-working.. the my programs and wallpapers are back, and the folders appear again in ES File Explorer, but..... I'm still getting this error "There is a problem parsing the package." whenever I try to install anything.
Search tags for this page

biggest sd card for droid 4

,
camera zoom fx save folder
,
droid 4 - large sd storage
,
droid 4 largest sd
,
droid 4 sd card
,

droid4 sd card notification folder

,
missing dcim folder under external sd card
,
mnt/sdcard/shd/wallpapers
,
no sd card detected droid
,
problem parsing the package android fix
,
storage sd card dcim camera
,
touchpad sd card storage
,
xsd card only shows 59 gig