Screen Question

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by TigerDirect, Nov 25, 2009.

  1. TigerDirect
    Offline

    TigerDirect New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I've been considering purchasing a Droid for a while now, so I've made a few trips to my local Verizon store to actually try one out. However, my experience with the phone as been less than stellar, to say the least.

    The touchscreen on the demo phones was absolutely horrible. Tapping an icon near the bottom of the screen would sometimes register as a press at the top of the screen, the back, menu, home and search buttons absolutely did not work, trying to scroll down would scroll up, the virtual keyboard registered multiple key presses on every press...basically, every aspect of the phone (except the physical keyboard and D-Pad) did not function properly.

    I've spent a fair amount of time reading reviews of the Droid, perusing this site, etc., and have never never heard of this occurring. But it strikes me as odd that both of the store's demo units behaved this way.

    Is this behavior normal? I have a hard time believing that it is (especially considering that those phones are public demo units), but I just wanted to hear from some actual Droid owners.

    Thanks.
  2. Gisboro
    Offline

    Gisboro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    This is absolutley not the case with my phone, I have had no issues at all with any of the screen fuunctions or any of the home buttons. Navigation through this phone is easy and smooth.
  3. darreno1
    Offline

    darreno1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If this was a normal occurence it'd be all over the web. Hate to say it but if 2 phones were acting that way when you used them then maybe it was something you were doing.
  4. TigerDirect
    Offline

    TigerDirect New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I had the same thought. But the first time I was in there, one unit worked perfectly and the other was terrible. Today, both units acted that way.

    Also, I had a friend with me today, and I asked them to try using the phone. They had the same experience as I did. So, while it could still be user error, I feel fairly certain that it isn't.
  5. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,051
    Likes Received:
    680
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    While highly unlikely it is possible they were 2 defective units. This is a non issue with the Droid. As a previous poster said if it was a known issue we would have certainly heard about it.

    With that said it could have been user error or you found 2 bad devices.
  6. hyperlite456
    Offline

    hyperlite456 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I honestly wouldn't worry about this happening with your own droid. If you know someone with a droid I'd say try there's, otherwise complain to the store or try the next nearest verizon
  7. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Keep in mind the display devices at stores take all types of abuse.
  8. TigerDirect
    Offline

    TigerDirect New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Alright, thanks for the responses everyone.
  9. SpencerC
    Offline

    SpencerC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I havent experienced any of the things you have mentioned.
  10. PaulAndroidMan
    Offline

    PaulAndroidMan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not normal. The problem is most like attributed to the fact that the Verizon Store is NOT using the original high power AC charger for the phone. I can almost assure you that's the problem. Try another store. This is, for sure, a problem with using a non-original (aftermarket, 3rd party) charger. Check the issues sub-forum on here.

    Hope that helps. :D

    Paul
  11. TomN
    Offline

    TomN New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    This is exactly what I was going to say!

    I can almost guarantee you that if you unplugged the USB power connector they would have acted normally.
  12. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,051
    Likes Received:
    680
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    this would in fact be true...good call.
  13. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0