Screen Brightness issue

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Hawks, Mar 22, 2010.

  1. Hawks

    Hawks Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I just overclocked my droid using Taz's Kernel. I applied the wifi fix and everything is working great except that now my screen never dims. It stays at full brightness all of the time. I tried searching for a solution but didnt see anything. Does anyone have any idea on how I can fix this?


    Thanks in advance
     
  2. bamaboy165

    bamaboy165 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried adding the power bar widget to your home screen and see what that does?
     
  3. Hawks

    Hawks Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    I have the toggle settings ap and it shows that my screen is set at the lowest brightness level but just to check I tries using the slider to make the screen brighter and that didint work. I also went into the settings on my phone and tried to adjut the brightness and that didnt work either. I did try adding the power bar widget and nothing!


    Thanks for the help though
     
  4. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223
    Most times this works. Go into settings: sounds and display: and toggle the auto brightness on and off. If that doesn't work it could be the kernel, I'm not familiar with Taz's kernels.
     
  5. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223
    What ROM are you running BTW? or are you just overclocked?
     
  6. Hawks

    Hawks Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I 'm on one of the old 2.1 Roms. I'd be lying to say I remember which one. anyway I can see which version it is on my phone?
     
  7. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +223
    If you're on an old version of 2.1, I'm assuming ported from the N1 I would flash a new ROM. Either Bugless Beast or Simply Stunning, as both of these are based off the 2.1 made for the Droid. That will fix your autobrightness for sure.
     
  8. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    menukey
    settings
    about phone
    scroll down to look at firmware version, kernel version, build number
     
  9. Hawks

    Hawks Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks all

    Said the hell with it and went with Ultimate Droid.. It kicks A$$.


    Thanks for everyone's help!!!
     
Search tags for this page

droid 3 display brightness issue