1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

SBF & Root help

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by PhotoMaster, Oct 27, 2011.

  1. PhotoMaster
    Offline

    PhotoMaster New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I am totally ignorant of how to root a phone. I have been reading through topics here and they have been flying WAY over my head. I believe I need to download some SBF file so I can restore the phone if I need to return it to factory default. I think what I need to do is:

    1) Get whatever software I need to return it to normal. SBF?? What do I need and how do I do it.
    2) Root the phone. What software will I need and what is the safest method to root it?

    I'm sure these things have been explained numerous times, but reading through other posts, I am getting more and more confused. For me, the simpler the better.

    Sorry for any repetition!

    Greg
  2. mrcastillo
    Offline

    mrcastillo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tn
  3. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just wrote a sticky (see this subforum)...should walk you through the process pretty easily.
  4. PhotoMaster
    Offline

    PhotoMaster New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    All rooted using PetesMotorolaRootTools. I have my screen capture app running like a champ, and Titanium Backup is installed. Now I need to figure out what I can safely freeze, so as not to hurt anything. I froze a few apps (Amazon Kindle, Blockbuster, City ID, etc.) and would love to know what else I can freeze to make it work better.
  5. pyro6128
    Offline

    pyro6128 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Just use petes bloat remover script

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  6. PhotoMaster
    Offline

    PhotoMaster New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Not sure how to run the scripts. I will have to check it out.
  7. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    There are lists floating around there on xda and rootzwiki in the droid 3 forums...
  8. PhotoMaster
    Offline

    PhotoMaster New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Thanks. I posted for help on rootzwiki and will be checking there next.
  9. fishacura
    Offline

    fishacura New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. PhotoMaster
    Offline

    PhotoMaster New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    You rock FishAcura! Your links gave me lots to work with! I've been freezing a few things, but am very leary. Now I have a good list to work from!
Search tags for this page
download petesmotorolaroottools v1.06.zip
,
epic 4g touch sbf
,
how to sbf galaxy s2
,
samsung epic 4g sbf
,

samsung fascinate sbf

,
samsung gem root
,
sbf sansung