1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

SBF/Gingerbread/Rooting Help

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by billymayshere, May 13, 2011.

  1. billymayshere
    Offline

    billymayshere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't get my X to show up in RSD Lite.

    I have downloaded the file, put my phone in bootloader (androids, not clockwork) and it does not show up.

    Am I missing a simple step?

    I have read 3-4 guides but when it comes to your phone showing up they just gloss over it and say it should show up..
  2. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Do you have the latest moto drivers downloaded/installed also?
    Are you running rsd lite as admin?

    Sent from an Angelic D2G
  3. billymayshere
    Offline

    billymayshere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have downloaded all of the moto drivers, and am using RSD Lite 4.9.

    I am on Windows XP so there is no need to run it as an admin.
  4. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    How did you get into the bootloader, holding volume keys while booting or via pc mode? Try the other one.

    Sent from an Angelic D2G
  5. billymayshere
    Offline

    billymayshere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, I am so dumb. I was turning it on the wrong way. I was turning it on like I wanted to apply a ROM. So many Hold this button and press power! Touch this and press power! Stand on your head, do 7 backflips and uppercut a lawn gnome while holding down the power button!

    Now for applying Gingerbread! :-D
  6. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Lmao. For future reference, the volume keys method is universal for droids. There's really only bootloader and recovery that has key combinations so its not that bad once you've done it a bit.

    Sent from an Angelic D2G
  7. billymayshere
    Offline

    billymayshere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    in RSDlite in the status of the SBF it says Manually Power up the phone.

    The red droid eye keeps flashing on the screen. Do I do a battery pull? Wait this out?

    Is it asking me to do a battery pull? The Power button does nothing.
  8. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Unplug, battery pull, plug back in, boot back into bootloader

    Sent from an Angelic D2G
  9. billymayshere
    Offline

    billymayshere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To upgrade to gingerbread do I need to bother setting up anything on the phone?

    I tried to apply the update but it said the package was unsigned or something. But I am running stock now and the update is called update.zip

    Any other resolutions to getting it to take the zip file and update it?
  10. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Root, install bootstrapper, use cwm to flash

    Sent from an Angelic D2G
  11. billymayshere
    Offline

    billymayshere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought the reason for SBFing was to get rid of clockwork and rooting? Or is it applying custom roms that makes you have to SBF? Because of all the residual things they leave behind?
  12. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Its to get rid of all of the things from romming and to make sure your on the latest ota version.

    Sent from an Angelic D2G
  13. billymayshere
    Offline

    billymayshere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is still aborting installation. Am I supposed to be using a Droid 2 Clockwork Flash or bootstrapper? Goodness.
  14. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Odd..... try downloading from a different source then

    Sent from an Angelic D2G
  15. billymayshere
    Offline

    billymayshere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now it wont move past the M Motorola sign. And its blue and not Red. Something did not work right. How do I get to somewhere where I can erase and try again? :(
  16. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    So just so I'm up to date with this, you sbfd and got back on stock, then you rerooted and downloaded gb leak and now you're trying to install this? You say you're getting a blue moto logo? Not the white stock one? Were you running a different rom before?

    Sent from my Liberated DROID2
  17. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    If you flashed the rom already and you're stuck on moto, 1st, did you let it sit for up to 5 min? I heard it can take that long on the first boot of gb. 2nd, you can try booting into stock recovery and doing a data wipe then reboot system and see if that helps

    Sent from my Liberated DROID2
  18. billymayshere
    Offline

    billymayshere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  19. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    I thought maybe liberty cause of the blue logo, but you said you sbfd so the blue logo should be back to stock white. Did you try the above mentioned stuff? Any luck? I'm sure you tried dl the file again, but maybe try another build of the leak?

    Sent from my Liberated DROID2
  20. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Boot into stock recovery (don't remember how on the X) wipe data/factory reset. Should fix it

    Sent from an Angelic D2G