rr_chaos_1_3.zip Not Installing on Razr

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Roms' started by blacktalon, Nov 25, 2012.

  1. blacktalon
    Offline

    blacktalon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Razr. I have clockworkmod installed.
    After wiping data and cache twice, I tried to install the rr__chaos_1_3.zip and received this error message
    E:Error in /sdcard/rr_chaos_1_3.zip (Status 0)
    I am sure you need more info but I am new to root operations on the Razr [or any phone]
    Please advise
  2. joshxdroid
    Offline

    joshxdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Make sure you follow the developers install instructions to the letter. Also it might be a bad download. Try re downloading it

    Sent from my XT912 running Scalpel CM10 jelly bean
  3. blacktalon
    Offline

    blacktalon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The instruction state:Installation:
    **MUST WIPE DATA & CACHE**
    Clockworkmod:
    You can install by simply browsing to the ROM as named, on your sd card and choosing install.
    sprecovery: Rename to update.zip first.

    I have clockworkmod v5.0.2.5
    The checksum of the downloaded file matches the published checksum.
    Suggestions?
  4. joshxdroid
    Offline

    joshxdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I would probably also clear the dalvik cache and format system should be under advanced. Every rom I've flashed has instructed me to do so

    Sent from my XT912 running Scalpel CM10 jelly bean
  5. blacktalon
    Offline

    blacktalon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Crap. That did not work either.
    I am actually kind of a tech oriented individual but I am stumped.
    I will try a new download
  6. joshxdroid
    Offline

    joshxdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I would. Sometimes a Rom will just not work for me. In fact the first rom I flashed kept bootlooping on my phone. I tried everything, I could get it to boot up once in a great while after many wipes and re installs, then the next time I'd shut my phone off, it would start bootlooping again. After days of screwing around with it, I finally decided that my phone just didn't like that rom for some reason and I tried another and had no problems. So you might wanna just try a different rom



    Sent from my XT912 running Scalpel CM10 jelly bean
  7. blacktalon
    Offline

    blacktalon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks you for your responses.
    This all started with my desire for a Punisher Theme. Then I found there are many performance enhancements and tweaks that can be performed.
    Where would I find a selection of ROMS. I am pretty sure your may not be willing to suggest a specific but can I find a ratings, features and benefits site with links to sources.
  8. joshxdroid
    Offline

    joshxdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I think I found your problem. Is your Razr on ics? Because I believe your Rom might be for gingerbread. I would suggest trying droid hd, or evolution. Those are both ics roms and they are very user friendly. I don't know if I can help you with the theme you want however. Here's a list of available Roms with links.

    http://www.droidrzr.com/index.php/t...ll-available-roms/page__pid__21091#entry21091

    Sent from my XT912 running Scalpel CM10 jelly bean
  9. blacktalon
    Offline

    blacktalon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That was it. I am learning this stuff and you have been a great help.
    Thank you. I installed Eclipse 1.5. Now the sky is the limit.
    Gary
  10. joshxdroid
    Offline

    joshxdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Excellent! Glad to help