Rooting.

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by jcwilliams, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just got my bionic today. It was a hand me down but free. I'm coming from the og and i'm sure rooting it is a lot different so what's the best way to root? I'm not looking to flash roms. I just want to use tether and get rid of bloatware.
    Thanks

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  2. Concistency
    Offline

    Concistency Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Ratings:
    +1
    I would say check out P3Droid 1 Click Path Saver and use that method.
     
  3. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH
    Ratings:
    +3
    i just tried using petes root tools and it failed on step 3 says something like abd could not be granted root access through local.prop.

    anyone know how to get this to work?
    thanks
     
  4. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
  5. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH
    Ratings:
    +3
    the link is down for that one so i found/used p3droids universal one click. i now have root. thanks!
     
  6. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
    awesome...great to hear...:)
     
  7. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH
    Ratings:
    +3
    i do have a question though. i am coming from the droid 1 (as you mbk already know) and i used tibu to backup all my apps so i can get them back on the bionic. when i go into tibu it dont show me that i have any apps to restore...is there something i have to do first? its like the bionic isnt seeing my backups that are on my sdcard.
     
  8. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
    The Bionic has two external SDCard partitions...SDCArd and SDCard-Ext...move the TitaniumBackup folder to the SDCard partition
     
  9. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH
    Ratings:
    +3
    Awesome thanks that worked too! Thanks for your help as always. You have any goodies for the bionic like you did for the Droid? I just got this bad boy yesterday and I am loving it so far.
     
  10. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
    I just returned it to complete stock.... except for a couple MetaMorphs that I applied...Ming font and Raiders pulldown. Other than that it's pretty much stock now
     
  11. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH
    Ratings:
    +3
    cool cool. i think thats how i am going to run mine. what kind of recovery can i use on the bionic? can i use rom manager and install cwm or is that not available for this phone?
     
  12. Concistency
    Offline

    Concistency Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Ratings:
    +1
    I recommend using Safestrap, allows you to "dualboot" two different rom's. Divided into "safe" and "unsafe" systems. The bootmenu comes up everytime you boot, so it's very safe and saves you in many cases if you flash a rom and end up in a boot loop. Here is a video:
     
  13. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH
    Ratings:
    +3
    Awesome thanks for the link. I'm going to install here in a few.
     
  14. Concistency
    Offline

    Concistency Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just be sure you don't have bootstrap and safestrap installed, you can only have one or the other. As soon as you boot into safestrap, create a backup of your current functional rom. Any backups from original bootstrap will not work with safestrap.
     
  15. jcwilliams
    Offline

    jcwilliams Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    OH
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yea that's what the video was saying. I don't have anything on here all I did was root and put all my apps on here. Unless the one click put a recovery on here then I shouldn't have one yet.