Rooting now, Problem, please help.

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Nibbz, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. Nibbz

    Nibbz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so I put the update.zip in the root of the sdcard. I named it right, when i checked its properties it was update.zip, not update.zip.zip. well I just wiped my phone and im trying to root now, so i hit install /sdcard/update.zip (deprecated) on sprrecovery and it says

    "Finding update package
    E: cant mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 (or /dev/block/mmcblk0)
    (no such file or directory)
    E: Can't mount SDCARD: update.zip
    Installation aborted."

    What do I do now!?
     
  2. reebz

    reebz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fresno, CA.
    Ratings:
    +0
    rename it "update", without quotes.
     
  3. Nibbz

    Nibbz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i did that. first.
     
  4. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    Did you select "allow update.zip" first?
     
  5. Nibbz

    Nibbz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok so i just flashed back to 2.0.1 and it says:

    SW Update
    In Progress...

    its been this way for a couple mins, how long does this take?
     
  6. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    flashing back to 2.0.1 takes a bit... if rsdlite finishes, and it's still saying "SW update..." then you can hit show device, but that's only happened to me once - i'd give it a bit and see if it reboots on its own
     
  7. Nibbz

    Nibbz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    it finally rebooted, so i flashed back, then flashed SPRecovery, but i still cant install the update. same problem as before.. only this time when I go to reboot the phone, it just stays on the motorola M logo, wtf did I do!? how do I fix this? Please help, if you have good knowledge on how to fix my issue and root my phone, please perhaps give me your i.m. and we can do this step by step. i just wanna make sure i dont break my phone.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2010
  8. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    are you trying to root 2.1 or do 2.2/Froyo?
     
  9. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Moved to Rescue Squad for further assistance.
     
  10. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    after you flashed 2.0.1, did you allow it time to download/install 2.1 over the air?
     
  11. Nibbz

    Nibbz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    it rebooted to 2.0.1 then I went to turn it off and open it in recovery mode, then i believe i went into SPRecovery and tried again to load the update.zip but that still didnt work so i went to reboot and it just stayed on the M screen. Im currently flashing back to 2.0.1 to try again hopefully, it is in the middle of the SW update, anybody wanna guide me from here please?
     
  12. versusxiii

    versusxiii Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you sure its called "update.zip"?

    Sometimes the .zip can be there already, but Windows doesn't show it -- so in theory if you name the file "update.zip" yourself, it really could be called "update.zip.zip".
     
  13. Nibbz

    Nibbz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    trust me i named the file right for the 3rd time... i can only state that so many times.

    ok im back to 2.0.1 and it just asked to update. What do I do now to root my phone. Basically, I want to get to froyo
     
  14. versusxiii

    versusxiii Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not really sure, is the "update.zip" on the root of your SD card? In no folders at all?

    If you have SPRecovery installed, you should just be able to reboot in to recovery and install the update.
     
  15. Nibbz

    Nibbz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think i know what i did wrong and what i need to do now. i will report back in 10.