1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Rooting again....

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Tech Support' started by Burrgoddess, May 27, 2013.

  1. Burrgoddess
    Offline

    Burrgoddess New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Marilla, NY
    I rooted my D4 when I first bought it. Then it started telling me 3x a day that it needed to update and it failed etc...So I flashed back to stock to allow the update...It went from 2. ... to 4.1.2. I did the root process I found but it didn't work. Can someone help make sure I have the right root file and directions please?TYVM:blink:
  2. karlsdroids
    Offline

    karlsdroids New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You're on Jb now, right? The razrblade file worked for me, it's a more complicated process than previous root procedures.

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
    1 person likes this.
  3. Burrgoddess
    Offline

    Burrgoddess New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Marilla, NY
    I believe so....I did the razr and followed everything step by step. But when I go to rom toolbox it tells me I'm not rooted....
  4. GigaJake
    Offline

    GigaJake New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Razr Blade utility is a little buggy on the D4. Make sure every step passes and you don't run into any errors.

    I believe Razr Blade installs SuperSU, so checking for that app is the quickest way to see if it rooted your device.

    Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk 2
  5. karlsdroids
    Offline

    karlsdroids New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, it does install supersu. I'll be doing a FDR soon so I'll be in the same boat.

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
  6. Burrgoddess
    Offline

    Burrgoddess New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Marilla, NY
    It fails...doesn't install superu...failed for /data/local.prop. permission denied. remount failed..etc
  7. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    try this xda-developers - View Single Post - [Q] Unable to properly root after 4.1.2 OTA update.

  8. Burrgoddess
    Offline

    Burrgoddess New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Marilla, NY
    still tells me local.prop is missing and cant install it...permission denied
  9. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Sounds like you are using the wrong root method.

    Razr_blade is the required method now on JellyBean, Razrs_edge no longer works.
  10. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
  11. Burrgoddess
    Offline

    Burrgoddess New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Marilla, NY
    I had edge....thanks for the correct link. trying now
  12. Holymsophy
    Offline

    Holymsophy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OKay, for those having issues with razr_blade.zip
    (I was having the same issues)

    What happens is that it detects your phone before the phone is completely booted up. So what I did was every time it says "rebooting" as soon as the device goes off, I disconnected it, waited for it to fully boot before reconnecting and then it will continue the process.

    Eventually it all worked well and I am rooted (took me all of last night, this morning and voila!)

    Hope it helps those getting:
    failed on '/data/logger - permission denied
    mkdir failed for /data/logger, file exists
    unable to chmod /data/logger: operation not permitted
    link failed file exists

    errors
    1 person likes this.
  13. New Daddy
    Offline

    New Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, that worked for me!
  14. livinginkaos
    Online

    livinginkaos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oregon
  15. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
  16. livinginkaos
    Online

    livinginkaos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oregon
    The original safe root has Knox handling in our that is not required for moto devices. Not going to be a problem, but one never knows. The unnecessary stuff for moto devices has been removed in the version I posted.

    Sent From My DEV X
Similar Threads
  1. cdm369
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    482
  2. Shadez
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    1,526
  3. 4dracing
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,542
  4. JRH1982
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    1,728
  5. slimmbeez
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,378
Loading...
Search tags for this page
error #7 framaroot
,
error #9 framaroot
,
error 7 framaroot
,
framaroot error
,
framaroot error #7
,
framaroot error #7 fix
,
framaroot error #8
,

framaroot error #9

,

framaroot error 7

,

framaroot error 7 fix

,
framaroot error 8
,

framaroot error 9

,
framaroot error 9 fix
,
framaroot error#7
,
how to fix framaroot error 7