Not Rooted?

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Tech Support' started by tuffD1, Feb 16, 2013.

  1. tuffD1
    Offline

    tuffD1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    While checking the status on the Super User, everything starts to check off as okay. Then on the last command, "Gaining root access".... FAIL.
    I am still running GB, not ICS. The SU app is present, and when I try to update to ICS, it downloads, but fails to install.
    Is my device not rooted properly? Any solutions would be gladly accepted. Thank you in advance.
  2. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,841
    Likes Received:
    318
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Download rootchecker from the play store. It'll tell you.

    Also when trying to do the update if you have removed or altered any system apps or bloat you need to restore them before you update.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
  3. tuffD1
    Offline

    tuffD1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I don't recall removing anything, no mods either. I just rooted (properly I hope) before all the roms came out and the ICS update, and left alone for too long. Also root checker says it is not rooted.
    The reason I left it alone was because I did not want to damage it at work, so I reverted to the trusty D1 for primary use. Now my job is a little more relaxed and I want to use the D4.
  4. tuffD1
    Offline

    tuffD1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    woops. sorry about that double post.

    heres whats going on...
    is the RSD supposed to recognize my droid 4?
    1. i click "..." 2. download folder opens up. 3. the folders appear to have a zipper on them.
    4. i click on the folder, error pops up with "get decompress file size error". 5. click "ok", SDL pops up with "unzip fail".

    whats going on here?
  5. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,841
    Likes Received:
    318
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Is it a SBF file for the D4 or a fastboot file? If its the first unzip the SBF file using 7zip before opening it with rsd.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
  6. tuffD1
    Offline

    tuffD1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    In RSD, the first slot, it says Fastboot. Would this be correct? Also the icons of the folders have a zipper over them.
  7. tuffD1
    Offline

    tuffD1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    And thanks for responding GoCliffGo. I really appreciate it.
  8. tuffD1
    Offline

    tuffD1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    RSD in the "Device Properties" box, all the options(ESN, Technology, Software/Flex/Bootloader/DRM Versions), say N/A
    Model - Fastboo...
    Port No. and Type - 1, USB
    IMEI/ESN/MEID - N/A
    Status - Connected...
  9. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,841
    Likes Received:
    318
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
  10. tuffD1
    Offline

    tuffD1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Well... of all the crazy things. Just completed a standard system update (which I have tried a couple times before), and I now have ICS 4.0.4
    CRAZY! Maybe I got a late push... LOLz
    Thanks again for helping.
Search tags for this page

flixster said phone rooted when its not

,

my phone status not rooted

,

root checker says not rooted

,

root status not rooted