Root problems

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Flowguy, Apr 19, 2011.

  1. Flowguy

    Flowguy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey everyone, Flowguy here. I'm having a few troubles with my rooted phone. Or should I say unrooted phone. I've been rooted for a few months now although suddenly my phone can't tell. Some of my apps say I'm not rooted such as the wireless tether, but I have SU still and I don't have a custom ROM on. I'm using a Droid 1 and running 2.2.2. If anyone could help me it would be much appriceiated.
     
  2. dasanman69

    dasanman69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well first things first. Get root checker from the market and run it. It'll tell you if you have root or not. What apps aren't seeing it?
     
  3. Flowguy

    Flowguy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The root checker says I'm not rooted. But I continue to have the SU app. Both rom manager and wireless tether are saying I'm not rooted.
     
  4. zerosouls

    zerosouls Soulless Droid
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Download Rom Manager and load it. Scroll down a bit and click on the option "Fix Permissions"... should do it?! :)
     
  5. Flowguy

    Flowguy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just attempted as you said zerosouls but it said "error occured while attempting to run privliged commands"
     
  6. zerosouls

    zerosouls Soulless Droid
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you sure your rooted then? Does Superuser show in your app drawer?
     
  7. Flowguy

    Flowguy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I have been rooted for several month and have used wireless tether before. I have the superuser app.
     
  8. zerosouls

    zerosouls Soulless Droid
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Somehow your not rooted? Try backing up your current ROM and wiping cache and data and load a new one. I know it's a lot to do, but it's all I can suggest.

    What ROM are you using currently? Give as much information as possible; your not getting a lot of response cuz you are not giving a lot of information on what your phone is running.
     
  9. Flowguy

    Flowguy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm running stock, I used to run cyanogen mod but switched back to stock because of to many bugs. I tried switching back after these problems start and ROM manager says the same error message as before.
     
  10. zerosouls

    zerosouls Soulless Droid
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah ok, it almost sounded like your running bugless beast... I can't imagine your problem otherwise..
     
  11. Flowguy

    Flowguy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nah. Just plain oldd stock.
     
  12. dasanman69

    dasanman69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You somehow lost root? Did you get an update recently? Having the superuser app means nothing.