Root question

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by pepito113, Apr 1, 2011.

  1. pepito113

    pepito113 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just have a few quick questions. I have the frg83g 2.2.2 and I want to make sure I have a few things straight. Is it true you CANT root OTA??? You have to download it to a computer and downloaded it to the phone? Is superoneclick the best and easiest option? Phone was never been rooted. I want the easiest possible way...
     
  2. pepito113

    pepito113 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bump... anyone
     
  3. cupfulloflol

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
  4. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,590
    Likes Received:
    1,665
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,807
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
  5. pepito113

    pepito113 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do I need to download it on a computer or can I do it on my phone OTA.
     
  6. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,590
    Likes Received:
    1,665
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,807
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    You need a pc.
     
  7. droidlady05

    droidlady05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Somewhere Over the Rainbow
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used the superone click method to root my Droid. The previous poster is correct

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  8. cupfulloflol

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
    Yeah sorry about my previous post and how short it was. Every method to root an up to date OG Droid requires a PC.

    Super1click and the one I linked earlier both require pretty much the same setup. Download a few files, install drivers and program on PC, setup phone, plug phone into PC and run program (being extremely generic but just saying this is the basic steps for both methods). Super1click roots your phone then you have to install a custom recovery after it is done, while root D1 regardless method installs a custom recovery then you have to root it (the guide goes through the steps on how to do this). Both are arguably equally as easy.

    The Root Droid 1 Regardless method has a lot of information that can be very helpful to you later. Super1click there is no detailed explanation as to what is going on, and why. It isn't hard to figure out with a bit of reading or asking. But since they both require the same amount of effort, I am going to recommend the method that is documented better. Plus if you don't plan on installing a custom ROM it gets rid of FRS (explained in that thread).
     
  9. DoctorDeDroid

    DoctorDeDroid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    superoneclick unroot?

    I have a kind of odd question... I've got a d1... if I use superoneclick to root, does the "unroot" button restore the phone to it's "original" state... i.e. does it pull EVERYTHING off that the root button put on??
     
  10. cupfulloflol

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
    No. It will just unroot it. It should pull off everything the program does (which should be the root files and possibly busybox).

    Everything else you have done to the phone, kernels, themes, ROMs, custom recoveries....etc will not be touched. You will need to use an update.zip or flash an .sbf file to get back to stock
     
  11. DoctorDeDroid

    DoctorDeDroid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry I should have been more specific... I was in fact referring only to the superoneclick root... as if I root then immediately un-root. But that is exactly what I wanted to know. A very big thanks for your response.
     
  12. droidlady05

    droidlady05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Somewhere Over the Rainbow
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cupfulloflol, will unrooting using superoneclick remove superuser from the app drawer if you need to return to stock? I keep reading that people are unable to get rid of superuser when they need to take their phone in to Big Red.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App