Root for D3 may be close....very close

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by nerdslogic, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    Check out this thread. As most, if not all, already know the Atrix was rooted running 2.3.4 (nothing new there) but....apparently P3Droid feels he is close to getting root on the D3 without an SBF or OTA.

    In addition apparently the method used to root the Atrix should be very close to what is used to root the D3....and whatever roots the D3 will most likely be almost identical to the Bionic.

    Thread found here.

    Atrix Running Stock Android 2.3.4 has been Rooted, DROID3 Up Next? - Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog
     
  2. saintlikesniper
    Offline

    saintlikesniper Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have zero doubts that p3droid and woodyman are looking into this. But the real question since its something we can all do who will be the first to attempt it without sure fire ways of going back to stock if this method does not like your phone and bricks it

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  3. cyferhax
    Offline

    cyferhax New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I actually gave it a whirl; the /preinstall folder is mounted without even read access though on the D3. I'm assuming the needed files are there since the fastboot bit was successful; and maybe if I pushed those files into /bin instead it would be more successful.. BUT it looks like it overwrites that mount point with whatever is in the img file so I'd rather not delete the one app i can see in bin (the cameracal one). If I knew how to build that img file I'd be tempted to include cameracal in it and give that a shot; but without a sbf file; i'm not that brave ;)
     
  4. saintlikesniper
    Offline

    saintlikesniper Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah same here now just waiting for release of root and a way to uproot. I understand root but how are sbf 's exactly made?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  5. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    Actually preinstall isn't even signed.....should make it easier to flash files in there.
     
  6. cyferhax
    Offline

    cyferhax New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Flashing wasn't the problem; just that in both terminal emulator and adb shell; I couldn't see any of the files in there, nor could I remount it, or come up with any other way to access those files. I'm assuming the flash worked since it reported success but without read access to that folder... well that's why there are smarter people then me working on this ;)
     
  7. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
  8. neilrl79
    Offline

    neilrl79 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cecil County MD
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sweet! I thought this was going to be one of those threads that piss me off, i'm pleasantly surprised that there is actual news here.
     
  9. bonesjones
    Offline

    bonesjones Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Close only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades. Lol sorry had to,
    This is great news.
     
  10. Daaz
    Offline

    Daaz Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is awesome news! I can't wait to NOT be using >85% of my memory whilst doing jack ****! Root, here we come!
     
  11. militant
    Offline

    militant Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like some of the bloatware might be our ticket in. Both Nova and Lets golf come back after a factory reset, and since they are deleteable, we may be able to get in using them. KrazyK seems to be pretty close, I think we might have root by the end of the weekend.
     
  12. militant
    Offline

    militant Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just incase any dev's happen to see this, this is krazykrivda on XDA developers:

     
  13. Daaz
    Offline

    Daaz Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dude... what if it gets done this weekend... the same weekend as Defcon :D

    Oh, anyone AT defcon right now... i'd start showing people this thread!
     
  14. Fr33dom
    Offline

    Fr33dom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6

    The Atrix is a different phone though and although I think this presents a possibility for the d3, we must steel our resolve for potential failure is as likely as success.
     
  15. Daaz
    Offline

    Daaz Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You say this even with the posts preceding yours?



     
Search tags for this page

bin/cameracal