Root for D3 may be close....very close

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by nerdslogic, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am getting very anxious. Hey krazy...post on rootzwiki...I think they are working on it too
     
  2. LordShadowz

    LordShadowz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't wait for root either ! I tell ya though I'm going to wait until there is a rock solid way to unroot and go back to original factory though..
     
  3. Maverick0984

    Maverick0984 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Sounds the they gave up on the current path :-/
     
  4. Daaz

    Daaz Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    :blackdroid:
    ****.

    So the bloat isn't the key? Care to expand?
     
  5. Maverick0984

    Maverick0984 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just read the thread...I'm just a peon like the rest of us.
     
  6. militant

    militant Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Basically there was a file in there with elevated permissions. He was trying to use that file, to hijack and inject his code to use it to gain root access. He seems to have think he's exhausted every variable at his method/what he was trying so he seems to be moving on. From what I've read though, the camera is coded like **** and they think there might be some holes in that... hopefully.
     
  7. Daaz

    Daaz Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah the cam software is pretty terrible



     
  8. KrazyKrivda

    KrazyKrivda Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have found several bugs and glitches in the camera app, but has anyone found a reproduceable one that will reboot the phone?
     
  9. buckmarble

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +69
    Best I could do is get it to FC launcher pro.

    Sent from my DROID3
     
  10. Cdjones187

    Cdjones187 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0

    I've actually noticed that every so often after I use the camera the phone will freeze and do a full reboot (not hot). But its very random and not sure if its just the camera or something else interfering with it after the app closes.
     
  11. superkeest

    superkeest Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    camera does not run as root.
     
  12. Daaz

    Daaz Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    :/

    Seems like the d3 is onw tough crack
     
  13. Cdjones187

    Cdjones187 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not a genius when it comes to this, but... Pre installed apps that are not removable aren't removable because its a ROOT application? Only way to remove the camera is through root, therefore its running in root? Might be wrong.

    Yes it is! Seems to be anyway, maybe we are all just way to impatient? I know when the DX came out it took a while to root, be patient. I was checking these forums daily (sometimes multiple times a day) waiting to see a front page thread about how the D3 has gained root. Did that the first few weeks and even contemplated sending the D3 back because it wasn't rooted yet. But since then this phone has grown on me, either way its a great device! Now I check every few days, with no high hopes (easier let down haha). There is no doubt it will gain root, just a matter of time. Could be next week, or close to next year. (if next year the bootloader better be unlocked!)

     
  14. psychotic_penguin

    psychotic_penguin DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Rapid City, SD
    Ratings:
    +37
    Root will definitely enhance this phone, I'm not gonna be too bent out of shape if it can't get figured out.
     
  15. DroidXDoes4G

    DroidXDoes4G Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Once I uninstall all this crap Verizon put on this phone and overclock to as high as it goes, this phone will fly.

    Even though its fast already.
     
Search tags for this page

bin/cameracal