Root Explorer unable to mount /system as R/W after 2.2. Autostarts gome from market.

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by humungus, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. humungus

    humungus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I sbf'ed 2.1, factory reset, rooted, then updated to 2.2. I have root. I have many root apps currently installed. I have # access using terminal.

    1. Root Explorer will not mount /system as R/W any longer. When I press the button it does nothing.

    2. Autostarts, the awesome app which disables processes from starting at certain times, is no longer showing up in market. The latest version is supposed to be compatible with 2.2, so I'm uncertain what the problem is.

    Anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    try uninstalling and reinstalling root explorer

    2.2 for autostarts is probably for droids 2.2. not optimized for DXs
     
  3. humungus

    humungus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I installed Root Explorer cleanly after updating, but I tried uninstalling and reinstalling for kicks. No dice.

    Autostarts isn't even showing up in the market, which is really weird. It's a great app, so it sucks that it's not compatible (yet?).
     
  4. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    try clearing root permissions for root explorer

    and give it some time. it should be fixed to work with DXs 2.2 (have to realize its only the first day and its also unofficial)
     
  5. humungus

    humungus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Clearing permissions didn't work, but thanks for the suggestion.

    Yeah, I didn't expect everything to be compatible from the first day. Mainly I want to know if other people are having the same problem, so I can determine if it's unique to my system environment.

    Again, thanks for the suggestions, they were both things I hadn't considered.
     
  6. HackerCity

    HackerCity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone PM me on the .sbf file. PLEASE!!!!............
     
  7. wsbsteven

    wsbsteven Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    youtube.com/wimervision
    Ratings:
    +0
    @humungus same problems and same attempts to fix failed.
     
  8. Womp

    Womp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same problem with Root Explorer not allowing me to select write/rewrite. Open the SuperUser app (The ninja guy), deselect Root Explorer, choose 'forget' and back out. Restart Root Explorer and choose 'allow' when prompted after an action.

    It worked for me, give it a shot.
     
  9. humungus

    humungus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Root Explorer issue seems to have fixed itself. I noticed that if I click the R/W button in the root directory, then click the R/O, and only then go into /system and press the R/W button, everything worked.

    For protected apps, replace your build.prop with the one in this thread. Now you can download everything. Note: this build.prop has stagefright enabled.
     
  10. dougiesgoindeep

    dougiesgoindeep New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried the suggestions above with no success. I am able to mount r/w in the root folder, but nothing else.

    Any suggestions?
     
  11. charliehal

    charliehal New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    DC metro area
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you're in usb mass storage mode while you are attempting to access the sdcard, then it won't mount. if you're connected to the pc, try disconnecting.
     
  12. dougiesgoindeep

    dougiesgoindeep New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not connected to the computer while trying this.
     
  13. mastertech007

    mastertech007 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    THANK YOU, worked perfect !!!!!!!
    Good Bye bloat
     
Search tags for this page
android unable to mount system rw
,
mount root explorer
,
root explorer can't mount r/w
,

root explorer mount r/w

,
root explorer r w not working
,
root explorer r/w
,
root explorer unable to mount r w
,
root explorer will not mount r/w
,
unable to mount r/w in root explorer
,
what system.app mount r/w compatible with net