roms and themes question

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Global Roms' started by volsfan1965, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. volsfan1965
    Offline

    volsfan1965 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can I install any of the themes that will work on the D2G when I am running stock rom or do I have to run a different rom and then change to a theme for that rom. thanks in advance for any help:byeBB:
  2. clouse2013
    Offline

    clouse2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    I'm pretty sure you have to use a custom rom and a theme specifically for it. Im not 100% sure but I think that's how it works.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  3. Droid Firefighter
    Offline

    Droid Firefighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,620
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Clouse is right. Each theme is created for each specific ROM due to the programming. Some developers do themes and port them to multiple ROMS. You have to find a ROM you like then look for the themes then add them. Then you get to try others. Its what has kept my D1 so new to me for two years now. Good luck and have fun!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  4. sid_wisc
    Offline

    sid_wisc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    ^^^+1... With the themes available for individual custom ROMs, DO NOT even try to use a theme on the stock ROM, I am not sure but it might soft brick your device... I tried using the liberty theme on Fission and I had so many problems with it... If you like to theme and still want to keep stock you can try to use ADW launcher and then there are so many themes for the ADW which will help you have a different phone whenever you want to make a change... That is what I am doing at this time to change things on my phone!!!!:icon_ banana:
  5. volsfan1965
    Offline

    volsfan1965 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sid_wisc do you have any problems with your contacts when you installed fission rom? If so how did you fix it? I tried to put it on my D2G and my contacts were really screwed up.
  6. sid_wisc
    Offline

    sid_wisc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    sid_wisc do you have any problems with your contacts when you installed fission rom? If so how did you fix it? I tried to put it on my D2G and my contacts were really screwed up.[/QUOTE]

    I did have the issue with the contacts which was like having all the facebook and google contacts in there. e.g. instead of having 100 contacts I ended up with like 200+ contacts. I was not able to fix it even after looking through different posts in the forum and ultimately ended up bringing back everything to stock. Currently i am flashing the stock and everything appears to be fine....

    Edit: Signature is misleading, will change it in a few days, just a little busy these days...
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2011