1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

ROM Manager Backups

Discussion in 'Koush' started by Jester6x, Apr 17, 2010.

  1. Jester6x
    Offline

    Jester6x New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A month or so ago I used the ROM Manager to do a backup and when I tried to restore, I got the MD5 Mismatch error. Every since I have been hesitant to use the backup through the ROM Manager and either go into Recovery and do a Nandroid backup that way or flash back to SPRecovery and do a backup through there.

    My question is, how are you doing your backups? Are they through ROM Manager, or are you going into recovery and doing it from there, or using SPRecovery? I would really like to use the ROM Manager backup, just makes me nervous and I don't know if that one time was a fluke. :)

    Thanks
  2. Cyrus6001
    Offline

    Cyrus6001 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    I had the same issue once so i just do them in sprecovery. Its way faster than the rom manager backups anyway.
  3. bL33d
    Offline

    bL33d New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    illinois
    hmm clockwork allways works for me....
  4. romanrish
    Offline

    romanrish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thatwas an error in a certain build I got the same error on one. I haven't had any problems in a while. What did you think all those updates were for. Also if you feel more comfy using clockwork to back up. You can always change name of backup in RM. All RM is doing anyway is automating a clockwork backup.
  5. Jester6x
    Offline

    Jester6x New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was hoping all those updates were fixing things, but when I got that error the one time my heart jumped in my throat. Its like having someone tell you they will catch you if you fall and then have them turn around when a hot girl walks by just as you slip. lol. :biggrin:

    But if you are saying that was problem with a previous build and its good to go, I will give it a try again.
  6. Jus Cruisin
    Offline

    Jus Cruisin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    No problems with ROM manager for me.
  7. dmacleo
    Offline

    dmacleo Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    tested twice in last day and worked fine both times.
  8. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Purchased Rom Manager yesterday and used it to install Cyanogen. Nice tool and Rom.

    I followed the instructions that Koush posted http://www.droidforums.net/forum/koush/36529-cyanogenmod-droid-5-0-5-7-a.html but I installed 5.0.6.1.

    And I agree that the backup in ClockWork does take longer than creating one via SPR.

    I've not had a need to restore a backup yet so I'm trusting that any and all early issues with ClockWork have been resolved.

    Mike
  9. dmacleo
    Offline

    dmacleo Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    its a gui way to do stuff w/o having to hold x button. in reality, to me, its not really much easier then sprec, but its done right from the user interface.

    due to some reports I tested a lot over last day, just did a recovery actually so thats 3, and it has been flawless.
    and ability to move back to sprec is useful too.
  10. Jester6x
    Offline

    Jester6x New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After everyone rebuilt my confidence in recovery though clockwork, I gave it a try and everything worked.........well like clockwork. It is definitely nice to have all the tools right though the ROM Manager.

    SPRecovery is definitely faster, but the convenience of not having to flash back and forth between recovery systems is very nice.

    Thanks for all your input guys.
  11. GrandMasterB
    Offline

    GrandMasterB New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ClockWork is smooth as silk. I havent used SPRecovery in close to 2 months and have no plans of using it again.
Search tags for this page
android rom manager restore backup
,

restore with rom manager

,
rom manager backup