ROM bootloop issues (GNEX)

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus ROMS' started by Mooselodge24, Jul 2, 2012.

  1. Mooselodge24

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys... I have tried to flash AOKP build 39 and the Jelly Bean roms to which when they both boot up, they just keep looping and I never make it to the home screen. Anyone have suggestions for me please? Thanks
     
  2. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    What method are you using? Also, could you list the steps? The more info the better.

    Sent From the Land Before Time...
    Tapatalk 2_GNEX
     
  3. cupfulloflol

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
    Did you follow the instructions of the ROMs install method?

    Like wipe if they require it, which AOKP should a wipe if you are coming from anything but perhaps AOKP 38 .

    Are you installing any other mods with tthe ROM? Themes, kernels, or other mods?
     
  4. Mooselodge24

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    Ratings:
    +0
    I simply download the rom, transfer the zip file to a folder i created on my phone. go into fastboot, find the file and then go to install it. it says it's installed and then I go to reboot phone and it just sticks at the boot logo for each rom.
     
  5. Nealius

    Nealius Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    You mentioned you tried a jb ROM . There is a super wipe available on xda that might fix your issue. I have not gone back to ICS since jb dropped. But I read a normal wipe may leave bits behind.
     
  6. Mooselodge24

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went back and backed up my ICS rom and what was goin on pre-flash. I then wiped partition and reinstalled for example the aokp rom. Am I doing this wrong? Some help please and thank you
     
  7. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Do you mean to say you went into recovery and installed it?

    Which partition do you mean you wiped? Was it just cache or did you do the factory reset/data wipe as well?
     
  8. Mooselodge24

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes recovery to install. sorry.

    and I just did a cache wipe
     
  9. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    OK well that is most likely the problem then. When installing a new ROM, unless otherwise stated in the directions, you need to do the full reset/data wipe option. Some times if you are already on a ROM and it is just an update you can squeak by with just wiping cache (sometimes referred to as a "dirty" flash).

    Now you also mentioned you backed up something. Was this back up a Nandroid back up (would have been done from the recovery screen or some people use ROM Manager to do it)?
     
  10. Mooselodge24

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went into recovery mode and did a backup through that, then I had wiped the cache, then attempted install of ROM.


    So should I do a full reset/wipe and then install the ROM?
     
  11. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Yes, definitely and hopefully that will get you back on track.
     
  12. Mooselodge24

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. I'm going to do another backup, then factory reset/wipe and install. hopefully it does work
     
  13. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Let me know how you make out.
     
  14. Mooselodge24

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    Ratings:
    +0
    got the ROM flashed. made it to home screen. went in and downloaded/installed the clockworkrecovery mod, then restarted phone. Now just to figure out how to get my contacts/apps back... not sure how to sign in
     
  15. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Sorry stepped away from the computer. There should have been a log in screen. What rom did you flash?

    Sent From the Land Before Time...
    Tapatalk 2_GNEX
     
Search tags for this page
aokp boot loop, s3
,
benz rom bootloop
,
bootloop fix android aokp
,

galaxy nexus boot loop fix

,
galaxy+nexus+boot+loop fix
,
gnex wont boot any rom above jr0030
,
maverick rom bootloop
,
mibox rom bootloop
,
u8800 aokp bootloop
,
when install roms gnex bootloop