ROM bootloop issues (GNEX)

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus ROMS' started by Mooselodge24, Jul 2, 2012.

  1. Mooselodge24
    Offline

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    Hey guys... I have tried to flash AOKP build 39 and the Jelly Bean roms to which when they both boot up, they just keep looping and I never make it to the home screen. Anyone have suggestions for me please? Thanks
  2. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    What method are you using? Also, could you list the steps? The more info the better.

    Sent From the Land Before Time...
    Tapatalk 2_GNEX
  3. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you follow the instructions of the ROMs install method?

    Like wipe if they require it, which AOKP should a wipe if you are coming from anything but perhaps AOKP 38 .

    Are you installing any other mods with tthe ROM? Themes, kernels, or other mods?
  4. Mooselodge24
    Offline

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    I simply download the rom, transfer the zip file to a folder i created on my phone. go into fastboot, find the file and then go to install it. it says it's installed and then I go to reboot phone and it just sticks at the boot logo for each rom.
  5. Nealius
    Offline

    Nealius New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You mentioned you tried a jb ROM . There is a super wipe available on xda that might fix your issue. I have not gone back to ICS since jb dropped. But I read a normal wipe may leave bits behind.
  6. Mooselodge24
    Offline

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    I went back and backed up my ICS rom and what was goin on pre-flash. I then wiped partition and reinstalled for example the aokp rom. Am I doing this wrong? Some help please and thank you
  7. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Do you mean to say you went into recovery and installed it?

    Which partition do you mean you wiped? Was it just cache or did you do the factory reset/data wipe as well?
  8. Mooselodge24
    Offline

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    Yes recovery to install. sorry.

    and I just did a cache wipe
  9. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    OK well that is most likely the problem then. When installing a new ROM, unless otherwise stated in the directions, you need to do the full reset/data wipe option. Some times if you are already on a ROM and it is just an update you can squeak by with just wiping cache (sometimes referred to as a "dirty" flash).

    Now you also mentioned you backed up something. Was this back up a Nandroid back up (would have been done from the recovery screen or some people use ROM Manager to do it)?
  10. Mooselodge24
    Offline

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    I went into recovery mode and did a backup through that, then I had wiped the cache, then attempted install of ROM.


    So should I do a full reset/wipe and then install the ROM?
  11. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Yes, definitely and hopefully that will get you back on track.
  12. Mooselodge24
    Offline

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    Thanks. I'm going to do another backup, then factory reset/wipe and install. hopefully it does work
  13. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Let me know how you make out.
  14. Mooselodge24
    Offline

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    got the ROM flashed. made it to home screen. went in and downloaded/installed the clockworkrecovery mod, then restarted phone. Now just to figure out how to get my contacts/apps back... not sure how to sign in
  15. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Sorry stepped away from the computer. There should have been a log in screen. What rom did you flash?

    Sent From the Land Before Time...
    Tapatalk 2_GNEX
  16. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Hit enter too quick. You probably just need to flash the GAPPS package which most roms require. So if that's the case then just boot back into recovery to install it and you should be. Good to go.

    Sent From the Land Before Time...
    Tapatalk 2_GNEX
  17. Mooselodge24
    Offline

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    do i flash this after or before the aokp rom?
  18. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    At the point you are now you should be able to boot into recovery now and just flash the GAPPS file, reboot, and sign in.

    The normal steps to follow when flashing are as follow:
    1) Boot into recovery
    2) Perform your wipes
    3) Flash ROM file
    4) Flash GAPPS file
    5) Reboot into Android
    6) Profit!
  19. Mooselodge24
    Offline

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    Thanks for everythin! I'm gonna give it a go here in a few... I had restored back to an old file that is just some ICS before I did anything since I wasn't getting service on the aokp at the time. Will update in a bit
  20. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    No problem, again let me know how you make out.
Search tags for this page
aokp always boot loops
,
aokp boot loop, s3
,
benz rom bootloop
,
bootloop fix android aokp
,

galaxy nexus boot loop fix

,
galaxy+nexus+boot+loop fix
,
gnex wont boot any rom above jr0030
,
maverick rom bootloop
,
mibox rom bootloop
,
rom in boot loop
,
u8800 aokp bootloop
,
when install roms gnex bootloop