ROM bootloop issues (GNEX)

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus ROMS' started by Mooselodge24, Jul 2, 2012.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. Mooselodge24
    Offline

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys... I have tried to flash AOKP build 39 and the Jelly Bean roms to which when they both boot up, they just keep looping and I never make it to the home screen. Anyone have suggestions for me please? Thanks
  2. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Twitter:
    JSM9873
    What method are you using? Also, could you list the steps? The more info the better.

    Sent From the Land Before Time...
    Tapatalk 2_GNEX
  3. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +22
    Did you follow the instructions of the ROMs install method?

    Like wipe if they require it, which AOKP should a wipe if you are coming from anything but perhaps AOKP 38 .

    Are you installing any other mods with tthe ROM? Themes, kernels, or other mods?
  4. Mooselodge24
    Offline

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    Ratings:
    +0
    I simply download the rom, transfer the zip file to a folder i created on my phone. go into fastboot, find the file and then go to install it. it says it's installed and then I go to reboot phone and it just sticks at the boot logo for each rom.
  5. Nealius
    Offline

    Nealius Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    You mentioned you tried a jb ROM . There is a super wipe available on xda that might fix your issue. I have not gone back to ICS since jb dropped. But I read a normal wipe may leave bits behind.
  6. Mooselodge24
    Offline

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went back and backed up my ICS rom and what was goin on pre-flash. I then wiped partition and reinstalled for example the aokp rom. Am I doing this wrong? Some help please and thank you
  7. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Twitter:
    JSM9873
    Do you mean to say you went into recovery and installed it?

    Which partition do you mean you wiped? Was it just cache or did you do the factory reset/data wipe as well?
  8. Mooselodge24
    Offline

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes recovery to install. sorry.

    and I just did a cache wipe
  9. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Twitter:
    JSM9873
    OK well that is most likely the problem then. When installing a new ROM, unless otherwise stated in the directions, you need to do the full reset/data wipe option. Some times if you are already on a ROM and it is just an update you can squeak by with just wiping cache (sometimes referred to as a "dirty" flash).

    Now you also mentioned you backed up something. Was this back up a Nandroid back up (would have been done from the recovery screen or some people use ROM Manager to do it)?
  10. Mooselodge24
    Offline

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went into recovery mode and did a backup through that, then I had wiped the cache, then attempted install of ROM.


    So should I do a full reset/wipe and then install the ROM?
  11. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Twitter:
    JSM9873
    Yes, definitely and hopefully that will get you back on track.
  12. Mooselodge24
    Offline

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. I'm going to do another backup, then factory reset/wipe and install. hopefully it does work
  13. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Twitter:
    JSM9873
    Let me know how you make out.
  14. Mooselodge24
    Offline

    Mooselodge24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NKY/Cincy
    Ratings:
    +0
    got the ROM flashed. made it to home screen. went in and downloaded/installed the clockworkrecovery mod, then restarted phone. Now just to figure out how to get my contacts/apps back... not sure how to sign in
  15. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Twitter:
    JSM9873
    Sorry stepped away from the computer. There should have been a log in screen. What rom did you flash?

    Sent From the Land Before Time...
    Tapatalk 2_GNEX
Search tags for this page
aokp boot loop, s3
,
benz rom bootloop
,
bootloop fix android aokp
,

galaxy nexus boot loop fix

,
galaxy+nexus+boot+loop fix
,
gnex wont boot any rom above jr0030
,
maverick rom bootloop
,
mibox rom bootloop
,
u8800 aokp bootloop
,
when install roms gnex bootloop