1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Recovery Disappeared

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by xarxes, Apr 5, 2012.

  1. xarxes
    Offline

    xarxes New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After SBF; my D2G won't let me to recovery ~ stuck at the M LOGO
    I tried everything including X+Power but it's as if Recovery is fried , it's lost..
    Is it possible that the Keyboard is burned? Is there any other way ; any other key or button combination to boot into recovery? Maybe ADB Shell SU from off power?

    So far only Software Upgrade mode works ( BootLoader Mode ) ; VolumeUp+VolumeDown+Power

    I need another way of entering stock recovery ( other than Xkey+PowerButton )

    Please help..

    P.S. Why do they call RSD Lite? Is there a non-lite full version which may let me boot into recovery using the computer and USB cable?

    Thank you in advance//
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2012
  2. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Rsdlite is just the name of the windows program. You use it to flash an SBF. You must be in bootloader mode to flash SBF. I'm unfamiliar with how to access bootloader mode on d2g though.
  3. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    While phone is off To manually put your device in bootloader mode: Turn off device press and hold the up and down volume buttons power on device (continue to hold the up and down volume buttons) wala - you are in bootloader mode Launch RSDLite (make sure device appears in window) Select SBF
  4. ddaniel51
    Offline

    ddaniel51 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona Desert
    Was your phone on the .629 update when you did the sbf? If so it's now a brick with no way to fix it.
  5. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    First, about Droid-Xer's responses: the author of the opening post was asking why does RSD Lite have “Lite” in its name. Not how to use it, or what it is.

    Second, to ddaniel51's: the author clearly stated that their device is stuck on the red “M” logo. Not on the bootloader screen with that infamous error.

    As for the post itself:

    1. Check if the phone is detected by your PC when it seems stuck. If so, try entering the shell by starting “adb shell”. Sometimes, if you had USB debugging enabled and there's some issue with the init scripts, the shell would start while the logo is still displayed, as there's nothing to take over the screen. If you do get to the shell, you can issue a “reboot recovery” command to force the phone to boot into the stock recovery.

    2. Have you tried reflashing the phone with RSD Lite using the 4.5.608 image? If you didn't, try doing that. If you did, and it didn't help, try using 2.4.29, in my experience it cleans up /data (and cache) which might help in your case.

    Oh, and in the future please use the standard forum font. Do not switch it to fancy cursive, please; it makes your post almost unreadable.
  6. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    I agree

    edit: also this doesn't look like a .629 update problem
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2012
  7. ddaniel51
    Offline

    ddaniel51 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona Desert
    Domo, I stand corrected. :)
  8. xarxes
    Offline

    xarxes New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wish it worked..


    Thank you Gasai but none of the above worked.. I tried all available SBF's but neither recovery shows up nor the phone go pass the M Logo..
    I am hoping with any future update SBF's auto wipe data & cache.. 2.4.29 didn't do it for me nor 2.3.30 or 4.608 ..
    ADB was not an option since I couldn't make the phone recognized by the computer from boot with the M Logo..

    Though it looks like a nice white brick ;)
  9. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Well, you might have a case of damaged flash memory. Also, now that I think about it, neither /data nor the cache partition are mounted or accessed in any way while the phone shows the Motorola logo (the cache partition is used by the Dalvik VM, and /data is of no interest to the kernel as well), so I doubt the problem lies therein.

    Did you try a warranty claim?
  10. xarxes
    Offline

    xarxes New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Warranty?

    I appreciate the advise but the phone is purchased when I was in U.S. and now I'm in Turkey with no Motorola Service behind..
    I wonder how to fix damaged flash memory ? Is it something I can buy and replace>?
    Is there any other SBF from another phone model I can use?

    I was just zapping through menus when it happened and the phone froze completely.. Nothing extraordinary or heavy for the phone to handle :(


    By the way , the phone doesn't charge and I also have tried ezSBF with no luck ///

    Thanks you a whole bunch buddy..
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2012
  11. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    I'm afraid you're SOL. Replacing the flash memory chip would cost you more than purchasing a new device.
Search tags for this page

error #5 cua framaroot

,

how to disapper bootloader mode