1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Droid 2 Global 2 won't boot into Nandroid

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by sul7en, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. sul7en
    Offline

    sul7en New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys, I picked up a Droid 2 Global over the weekend from a relative.
    I can root it but I can't get it to boot into recovery. I used Z4 and also manually rooted it w/ psneuter --and the thing is totally rooted. I've used clockworkMOD, Droid 2 Bootstrap recovery and Droid X bootstrap recovery and all 3 say they've installed correctly but each one on reboot only boots to the Moto logo.

    I've also tried reboot recovery via adb shell and no luck there either...just hangs on the M.
    I've read every post I could find on this but most of the threads just lead nowhere.

    Any ideas on this one?
    Thanks!!:)
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011
  2. 60lpsdf250
    Offline

    60lpsdf250 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas, USA
  3. sul7en
    Offline

    sul7en New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah tried that numerous times before posting. The seller (clueless & thinking they were helping) did a factory reset on it. Probably after it had received OTA updates so it is in this crazy confused state. I'm going to SBF it.

    In case I wasn't clear it will boot into the OS it just wont boot into Nandroid \\ SPRecovery. I can only get the factory recovery menu when holding X on boot. up. Maybe I need to install the proper files via update.zip but I don't want to risk using the Droid 2 files on a Droid 2 Global and brick it. I can't find update.zip for the Global for SPRecovery.
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011
  4. sul7en
    Offline

    sul7en New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay I SBF'd and same thing I can boot to OS and stock recovery and all the other utilz mentioned above wont boot into SPRecovery...can anyone help me?
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011
  5. sul7en
    Offline

    sul7en New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I could really use some help w/ this.
  6. Digital Cha0s
    Offline

    Digital Cha0s New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    download droid 2 bootstraper and clockwork recovery then run those, then try again maybe??
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011
  7. 60lpsdf250
    Offline

    60lpsdf250 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    i'm thinking it's rsdlite. i've not used it at all, but i think that is your problem... something about drivers, etc. i've read a lot about problems with SBFing using rsdlite.

    if you follow the "SBF with Linux..." i'm thinking it'll be flawless. think about it... gnu/linux flashing gnu/linux... perfect, imo.

    pm me if you are not comfortable with using this methodology. I assure you that you won't destroy winbloze. I'm pretty sure it'll work using gnu/linux (of course, i can't guarantee anything 0.o!)
  8. sul7en
    Offline

    sul7en New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got it working not sure WTF I did but its working....and I did it on Win 7!!! Hard to believe huh? I almost installed Linux after reading the posts...oh wait no I didn't because that absolutely never had anything at all to do with it. I've been working with Linux professionally since 1996 and seriously man. ..calm down on the fanboy action. No1 is going to take you seriously with all the raging on Windows. Windows had nothing to do w/ this issue.

    Thanks yall. I really do appreciate the help...I owe you one.
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011
  9. Digital Cha0s
    Offline

    Digital Cha0s New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Glad to hear you got it working. also everything I have done has been on win7 with no issues. its always the operator IMO
Search tags for this page
d2g boot to nandroid
,

droid 2 global won't boot